Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: TP-Link W9970  (Read 14733 times)

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 976
TP-Link W9970
« on: February 22, 2016, 05:07:02 PM »

Admin: Added link to site review:   TP-Link TD-W9970 review

----

Has anyone used a TP-Link W9970 modem/router as reviewed here

As far as I can tell, it has the a Broadcom chipset (so I presume will provide line stats), support for G.INP/Vectoring and is available from 33..

Given that the HG612 is going for over 20+ at a certain auction site, the TD-W9970 seems better value?
« Last Edit: March 01, 2016, 05:30:34 PM by kitz »
Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2362
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 05:50:05 PM »

As far as I can tell, it has the a Broadcom chipset (so I presume will provide line stats),
I'm not sure that's a good presumption. Doesn't it have to have Busybox and xdslcmd as well?
Logged

kitzuser87430

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 427
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2016, 05:54:04 PM »

Quote
anyone used a TP-Link W9970

Yep currently have one on my (ADSL Max) line.


It is as dray said..

Very reduced line stats, the bare minimum via ejs' StatsPOSTer java program http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14377.msg281140.html#msg281140


Code: [Select]
[1,0,0,0,0,0]0
enable=1
status=Up
linkEncapsulationRequested=
linkEncapsulationUsed=G.992.3_Annex_K_ATM
modulationType=ADSL_G.dmt
lineEncoding=
allowedProfiles=8a,8b,8c,8d,12a,12b,17a,30a
currentProfile=
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8a=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8b=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8c=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8d=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_12a=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_12b=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_17a=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_30a=0
dataPath=
interleaveDepth=0
lineNumber=0
upstreamCurrRate=448
downstreamCurrRate=7072
upstreamMaxRate=932
downstreamMaxRate=7184
upstreamNoiseMargin=160
downstreamNoiseMargin=47
upstreamAttenuation=270
downstreamAttenuation=460
upstreamPower=125
downstreamPower=199
usNegBandPlanDiscPresentation=0
dsNegBandPlanDiscPresentation=0
SATNus=
SATNds=
LATNus=
LATNds=
SNRMarginus=
SNRMarginds=
transmitPowerUs=
transmitPowerDs=
ATURVendor=
ATURCountry=
ATUCVendor=
ATUCCountry=
totalStart=96523
showtimeStart=269311
quarterHourStart=0
X_TP_Bitswap=On
X_TP_SRA=Off
X_TP_AdslModulationCfg=ADSL_G.dmt
X_TP_AnnexType=Annex A
X_TP_SupportAdslMode=VDSL2:A;T1.413:A;G.lite:A;G.dmt:A;ADSL2:A,A/L;ADSL2+:A,M,A/L/M;Auto Sync-up:A,A/L,M,A/L/M
[1,0,0,0,0,0]1
receiveBlocks=0
transmitBlocks=0
cellDelin=0
linkRetrain=0
initErrors=0
initTimeouts=0
lossOfFraming=0
erroredSecs=0
X_TP_US_ErroredSecs=0
severelyErroredSecs=0
X_TP_US_SeverelyErroredSecs=0
FECErrors=1287500
ATUCFECErrors=274
HECErrors=31847
ATUCHECErrors=89
CRCErrors=1880
ATUCCRCErrors=81
ATUCSeverelyErroredSecs=0
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2038
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2016, 05:55:23 PM »

Oh it has busybox and xdslcmd, but your ability to access them is another matter.

Other chipsets will have their own programs which may well provide just as many stats, but the stat monitoring programs don't tend to support them, even if they can be accessed.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32444
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2016, 07:37:51 PM »

I'm waiting on one of these, but I should imagine as per the previous tp-links it will be very limited.

ETA ... didnt know kitzuser already had one. 

*Goes to poke someone with a stick.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 976
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2016, 05:11:02 PM »

I'm waiting on one of these, but I should imagine as per the previous tp-links it will be very limited.

Looking forward to your review.

Sounds as if T-Link could corner the budget self-install FTTC market if only they made the stats more accessible..

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32444
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2016, 07:33:37 PM »

It arrived yesterday, but didnt get chance to put it on my line until this eve.

Quote
Sounds as if T-Link could corner the budget self-install FTTC market if only they made the stats more accessible..

I'm pessimistic that they will, which is a shame. 
One of the managers who used to work there was very supportive of the idea, and he actually took it up with head office.  I did some sort of report showing what we could do with the likes of DSLstats and such.   Unfortunately I believe it was vetoed in Shenzhen or where ever it is for 'security reasons'.  One of the other UK product/dev managers took it up again last year (the guy who sorted the g.inp fix thingy), but all went quiet. 

I note that the TD-W9970 does have a little bit more info available via the tplink CLI than the others in that it shows split down of the medley bands for atten, SNRm and power.

Code: [Select]
TP-LINK(conf)#adsl show info

INDEX=1
{
enable=1
status=Up
linkEncapsulationRequested=
linkEncapsulationUsed=G.993.2_Annex_K_PTM
modulationType=VDSL2
lineEncoding=
allowedProfiles=8a,8b,8c,8d,12a,12b,17a,30a
currentProfile=17a
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8a=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8b=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8c=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8d=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_12a=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_12b=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_17a=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_30a=0
dataPath=
interleaveDepth=0
lineNumber=0
upstreamCurrRate=20000
downstreamCurrRate=79987
upstreamMaxRate=27192
downstreamMaxRate=83825
upstreamNoiseMargin=97
downstreamNoiseMargin=70
upstreamAttenuation=160
downstreamAttenuation=94
upstreamPower=32
downstreamPower=143
usNegBandPlanDiscPresentation=3
dsNegBandPlanDiscPresentation=3
SATNus=10,159,277,1023,1023
SATNds=91,214,343,1023,1023
LATNus=7,160,277,1023,1023
LATNds=94,216,343,1023,1023
SNRMarginus=120,100,96,-512,-512
SNRMarginds=70,70,70,-512,-512
transmitPowerUs=-68,-283,28,-1281,-1281
transmitPowerDs=119,75,73,-1281,-1281
ATURVendor=
ATURCountry=
ATUCVendor=
ATUCCountry=
totalStart=3951
showtimeStart=2597
quarterHourStart=0
X_TP_Bitswap=On
X_TP_SRA=Off
X_TP_AdslModulationCfg=Multimode
X_TP_AnnexType=Annex A/L
X_TP_SupportAdslMode=VDSL2:A;T1.413:A;G.lite:A;G.dmt:A;ADSL2:A,A/L;ADSL2+:A,M,A/
L/M;Auto Sync-up:A,A/L,M,A/L/M
}
cmd:SUCC

I put the HG612 on to do some direct stat comparisons and downstream performance looks slightly higher.   My upstream headroom  seems to have taken a bit of a hit though.
 Im still poking around atm testing out the more basic things such as wifi etc,  so havent looked at anything under the hood.   It looks like just 2 screws to get into the case, so that should hopefully be easy  :fingers: 
For the money though, it seems good.   
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32444
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2016, 08:09:48 PM »

Has anyone else that can normally sync at the full 20Mbps upstream noticed anything odd?

For some reason this modem gives a really good downstream rate, but I note my headline upstream rate is the lowest Ive ever seen it by about 5Mb. (32Mb -> 27Mb)
Looking further at the CLI I notice my upstream power is only 3.2 dbm where as its usually around 5.4dbm.      Im wondering if its the modem choking it because Im already getting full 20Mbps. ???
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32444
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2016, 01:33:04 AM »

Been playing with this all evening.  The GUI is obviously borrowed from the TD9980 and I havent found any bugs or glitches.  Set up was a breeze, only had to put in my ISP username and password.

OK its only wireless N, but the modem itself seems good.  Such a shame there's no access to the broadcom CLI otherwise this would be the ideal replacement for the HG612.
What a cracking little modem for the price, Im actually very impressed at what you get for your money. 

Review isnt finished yet as I want to run it for a while to check stability, but Ive been watching stats all night in another browser and they havent budged aside from the flicker of a few kbps on the max rate.   Holding a nice steady 7dB SNRm for about 8hrs.   

Preview of the TP-Link TD-W9970 Review which wont get completely finished & go live on the site,  until its been on my line for longer to confirm stability.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32444
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2016, 01:37:50 AM »

@ ejs

Works well with StatPOSTer first time.    Theres some additional info that it pulls on VDSL compared to the TD-W9980. 

Code: [Select]
2016.02.26 00:49:01 xDSL Stats (1st,Auto):
[1,0,0,0,0,0]0
enable=1
status=Up
linkEncapsulationRequested=
linkEncapsulationUsed=G.993.2_Annex_K_PTM
modulationType=VDSL2
lineEncoding=
allowedProfiles=8a,8b,8c,8d,12a,12b,17a,30a
currentProfile=17a
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8a=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8b=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8c=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_8d=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_12a=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_12b=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_17a=1
X_TP_VDSLProfiles_30a=0
dataPath=
interleaveDepth=0
lineNumber=0
upstreamCurrRate=20000
downstreamCurrRate=79987
upstreamMaxRate=27178
downstreamMaxRate=83872
upstreamNoiseMargin=97
downstreamNoiseMargin=70
upstreamAttenuation=160
downstreamAttenuation=94
upstreamPower=32
downstreamPower=143
usNegBandPlanDiscPresentation=3
dsNegBandPlanDiscPresentation=3
SATNus=10,159,277,1023,1023
SATNds=91,215,343,1023,1023
LATNus=7,160,277,1023,1023
LATNds=94,216,343,1023,1023
SNRMarginus=102,99,96,-512,-512
SNRMarginds=70,70,70,-512,-512
transmitPowerUs=-68,-283,28,-1281,-1281
transmitPowerDs=119,75,73,-1281,-1281
ATURVendor=
ATURCountry=
ATUCVendor=
ATUCCountry=
totalStart=25534
showtimeStart=24181
quarterHourStart=0
X_TP_Bitswap=On
X_TP_SRA=Off
X_TP_AdslModulationCfg=Multimode
X_TP_AnnexType=Annex A/L
X_TP_SupportAdslMode=VDSL2:A;T1.413:A;G.lite:A;G.dmt:A;ADSL2:A,A/L;ADSL2+:A,M,A/L/M;Auto Sync-up:A,A/L,M,A/L/M
[1,0,0,0,0,0]1
receiveBlocks=0
transmitBlocks=0
cellDelin=0
linkRetrain=0
initErrors=0
initTimeouts=0
lossOfFraming=0
erroredSecs=0
X_TP_US_ErroredSecs=0
severelyErroredSecs=0
X_TP_US_SeverelyErroredSecs=0
FECErrors=0
ATUCFECErrors=52
HECErrors=42
ATUCHECErrors=0
CRCErrors=35
ATUCCRCErrors=1
ATUCSeverelyErroredSecs=0
[error]0


Thank you :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 976
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2016, 10:42:10 AM »

Preview of the TP-Link TD-W9970 Review which wont get completely finished & go live on the site,  until its been on my line for longer to confirm stability.

I'm impressed -that was quick work! :)

Two quick thoughts reading the preview:

1. Do you want to specifically mention it supports G.INP?
2. You mention it works with ejs StatPOSTer but is it worth mentioning whether it works with DSLStats/mydslwebstats etc?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32444
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2016, 02:10:53 PM »

Cheers.

1)  Waiting a response from tp-link on that.    Its not something I could check here as Im on an ECI cab.  I should think it will though as its a BCM chipset, but Ive just mailed them to double check.
2)  Sorted :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2016, 03:03:32 PM »

  I am not sure whether the ES CRC and FEC reported via  StatPOSTer are correct but before you remove the TPLink please could you see and report how the rates seem to compare with your usual Zyxel?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32444
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2016, 07:08:17 PM »

Bit late.  The I was going to leave it on longer, but I wanted to watch something on the TV.   The tv itself is a real pig to configure and it never remembers previous settings.  It was quicker to swap router over than mess with the TV when I was tired. 

I must admit I thought the error secs were lower than usual but I'd been messing about with the router and making configuration changes very shortly before I pulled those stats and it had had a reboot about less than 5 mins before those totals above so I just thought the reboot had perhaps cleared totals.

I don't really want to swap back again today due to the number of resyncs I've already done in the past 24 hours (5 or 6) without bothering to wait the 30 mins.   I will look again this we when I shall also put the TV on it.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2016, 07:11:51 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32444
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TP-Link W9970
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2016, 10:49:24 AM »

btw before I forget. 

I havent put this is the review, as I benchmarked against the HG612..  but no doubt someone will perhaps want to know how it performs against my modem of choice which is the VMG8324, so I'll post those stats in here, just for comparison

Zyxel VMG8324
Code: [Select]
Max:    Upstream rate = 31594 Kbps, Downstream rate = 84056 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 20000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:          Profile 17a
TPS-TC:                 PTM Mode
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        6.9             12.8
Attn(dB):        0.0             0.0
Pwr(dBm):        14.3            5.0
 


Huawei HG612
Code: [Select]
Current Rate (Kbps) 79999 20000
Attainable rate (kbit/s) 82268 31495
SNR margin (dB) 6.6 13
Line attenuation (dB) 0 0
Output power (dBmV) 14.3 5.4


TP-Link TD-W9970
Code: [Select]
Line Status:Connected
DSL Modulation Type:VDSL2
Annex Type:Annex A/L
  Upstream Downstream
Current Rate (Kbps) 20000 79987
Max Rate (Kbps) 27192 83861
SNR Margin (dB) 9.7 7
Line Attenuation (dB) 16 9.4
Errors (Pkts) 0 0

The syncs were taken within minutes of each other. 
I had everything pre-prepared ready to switch over and all I had to do was swap over the modem cable and LAN1 cable each time.   
I didnt wait for any time in between (ie DLM will have seen them all as forced retrains).
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: [1] 2