Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7

Author Topic: G.INP and ECI  (Read 34658 times)

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #75 on: March 28, 2015, 10:53:41 AM »

From my understanding of the G.998.4 standard (G.INP), it is not meant to be applied symmetrically by default.

That is to say the analysis of the line that instigates the switching on of G.INP can decide that only DS or even US needs to be enabled.

Looking through the details of various vendors implementations of G.INP on their kit it is seen that updates have been made to allow DS/US to be independently enabled.
(Possibly they thought that DS/US should be enabled at the same time *incorrectly*)

This means that the Fritzbox may be enabling only DS because that is what DLM has decided after the line analysis.

People with more knowledge please correct me if I am wrong. I want to understand how it all works *correctly*.
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2065
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #76 on: March 28, 2015, 11:59:39 AM »

BT SIN 498 lists support for G.INP on the upstream as a non-mandatory feature, it says "should" rather than "shall".
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #77 on: March 28, 2015, 04:00:23 PM »

Thanks ejs.
That shows BT's focus is on the DS.
Be interesting to know vendors that don't support G.INP on the US. ?
So strange it is not mandatory.
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #78 on: March 28, 2015, 04:02:41 PM »

Is there a potential gain to be had not having G.INP on the US ?
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6340
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #79 on: March 28, 2015, 04:16:11 PM »

compute power?
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #80 on: March 28, 2015, 04:22:44 PM »

I expect the kit involved should be able to handle all the compute intensive protocols it is designed to support. If you are having to switch capabilities off the hardware is under-spec'd for the job. i.e. the hardware should be tested to support ALL compute intensive modes at once if it is possible they may be used concurrently.

Update:
Sorry if this sounds like a snipe Chrysalis, not intended. Just re-read it and added this note.
I have a thing about hardware that is specced to 'just about' work. See posts about problem PhilipD is having with the Zyxel 8924 as an example.
http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,15038.msg280171.html#msg280171
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 05:19:32 PM by AArdvark »
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #81 on: March 29, 2015, 04:17:24 AM »

The need for lower error rates comes from video streaming - particularly the need for broadcast-like picture quality, with very low breakups. The requirements are probably an order of magnitude more stringent then the needs for datacomms.

With this in mind, it isn't really a surprise that full g.INP support is not needed for upstream.
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #82 on: March 29, 2015, 01:53:40 PM »

Didn't think beyond the UK Domestic & Business BB arena.  :blush:

In Europe & beyond there are combined TV/BB packages that supply over VDSL2. :idea: 
Mea Culpa.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2015, 01:56:41 PM by AArdvark »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32552
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #83 on: March 30, 2015, 12:40:11 AM »

Thanks Mike for sharing that info.  It certainly does look like you are the first, so it does at least give some of us hope that it may be on the way for other ECI cabs. :fingers:

Quote
Edit: one more now with adslmax in the fold....

Now that one is interesting.   afaik, theres no reason why it would be applied to his line.
It looks like its given him and 0.8db of SNRm and attainable from 99500 -> 104750

He's also now seeing his first FECs, but not very many... and no CRCs, but a few E/S.   I had wondered why he hadnt said anything but I also note he's had no line status since lunch time.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Bowdon

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2139
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #84 on: April 06, 2015, 11:06:06 PM »

Anymore updates on the situation with ECI cabs?

I think someone said the ECI cabs were going to have G.INP implemented from April 2nd.
Logged
BT Infinity 2 - Smart Hub 6 - ECI Cab

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1115
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #85 on: April 07, 2015, 09:48:10 AM »

It's supposed to be between April to the end of June.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6340
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #86 on: April 07, 2015, 03:28:13 PM »

I dont think anyone has said ECI will be finished this quarter, only that it will "start" this quarter.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32552
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #87 on: April 07, 2015, 09:30:48 PM »

I cant recall seeing an actual end date either.. just a start date.
But it took them 2.5 months to do all the Huawei's and theres more of them than ECI's 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6340
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #88 on: April 07, 2015, 09:38:58 PM »

agreed its logical the time will be within the 2.5 months but its possible they may not start till near the end if the quarter. :) perhaps more likely now that some problems have been raised by the isps.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1697
  • Software Defined WAN deployment engineer
Re: G.INP and ECI
« Reply #89 on: April 09, 2015, 10:30:51 PM »

I cant recall seeing an actual end date either.. just a start date.
But it took them 2.5 months to do all the Huawei's and theres more of them than ECI's

Scheduled to have started now, ramping up in May, complete by June.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120
Routing: pfSense VM
Switching: Mikrotik 2* CRS305-1G-4S-IN, 1 * CRS309-1G-8S+; various cheap and cheerful TP-Link/Netgear
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT Full Fibre 900. Zen Full Fibre 900.
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7