Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Vendor Identification Codes  (Read 8607 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27117
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Vendor Identification Codes
« on: May 24, 2014, 01:42:53 AM »

When certain equipment (e.g. a modem with a Broadcom chip-set or a Hand-Held Tester) is connected to a line over which an xDSL service is provided, it is possible to interrogate the remote device for details of its chip-set. Part of the information returned is the chip-set's vendor identification code.

Here follows a table of currently known vendor abbreviations --

Code: [Select]
Code       Vendor

ALCB       Alcatel
ANDV       Analog Devices
BDCM       Broadcom
GSPN       Globespan
IKNS       Ikanos
IFTN       Infineon
META       Metanoia
STMI       STMicroelectronics
TSTS       Texas Instruments
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2014, 06:50:27 AM »

Many thanks for that. I didn't realise there were so many.
Logged
  Eric

4candles

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2696
  • Not young enough to know everything
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2014, 07:12:57 AM »

Interesting - thanks b*cat.

I only recognised four.
Logged
Most things are somewhere else

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32136
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2014, 09:37:11 AM »

Thanks b*cat. :)

I'd not heard of Metanoia before.   Ive now added Metanoia to the list of vendor ids on the linestats page.  :)

I believe Texas Instruments is actually TSTC, is that perhaps a typo... unless if you know they are also using TSTS? 
Its unclear why TI use TSTC and whether its a reference to Texas State Technical College which they have close ties to, or if its Taiwan Semiconductor Technology Corporation which they also have links with and hold mutual shares in....  or it could be something else entirely different.  :shrug2:
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32136
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2014, 09:44:29 AM »

Many thanks for that. I didn't realise there were so many.

I think there may be a couple more chipsets that I dont have such as USRobotics and Motorola and Conexant but I guess if no-ones asked or told then they cant be much in use these days.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2014, 09:53:36 AM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3194
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2014, 10:54:52 AM »

From an online dictionary
Code: [Select]
Main Entry:    metanoia
Part of Speech:    n
Definition:    spiritual conversion or awakening; fundamental change of character
Etymology:    Greek 'change one's mind, repent'

Strange name for a vendor! Who's repented or going to have to repent? ::)
Logged

babis3g

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2014, 11:07:08 AM »

to add for the list
Analog Devices appears & as ADI
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Analog_Devices

conexant has the code CNXT

Texas Instrument appear & as TI

Trendchip TCTN

Thomson/Technicolor as TMMB ...(Note thomson even has different variants of chipsets build into the products example infineon,broadcom,trend, will still display TMMB)

Ralink & MediaTek their vednor id appears with numbers such 0.xxx
« Last Edit: May 24, 2014, 12:03:04 PM by babis3g »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32136
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2014, 08:17:52 PM »

Thanks babis3g.
I already had TI, TCTN and TMMB listed.

Ive quickly added CNXT so thank you for that - Linestats - Vendor IDs

Quote
Ralink & MediaTek their vednor id appears with numbers such 0.xxx

Yes thats a weird one, iirc I stumbled across that when I was looking years ago.  IIRC  I believe they arent the only ones and it varies depending on the model of the chipset so it isnt always that much of a help.   I will try to do some more digging later :/
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27117
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2014, 10:06:37 PM »

Looking at the table in the Vendor IDs section of the Line Stats page I see that Huawei is also show on the Infineon line.  :-\

In the case of the deployment of Huawei MA5616 and MA5603 MSANs for FTTC, both are Broadcom based chip-set devices.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

konrado5

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 896
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2014, 10:13:03 PM »

Could someone identify my DSLAM:
Code: [Select]
DSLAM/MSAN type:        BDCM:0xa32f / v0xa32fI only know it is probably Ericcson. But what more can be read off from it?
Logged

babis3g

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2014, 10:36:44 PM »

I forgot the centillium CTLM
it seems they was making few staff for annex C, but have not find any adsl modem
I know the Greek ISP "On Telecoms" still using at rural places some CTLM dslams
http://www.nyquistcapital.com/2008/01/18/ikanos-buys-centillium-dsl-assets/

Also from my netgear 2200 it reports "BDCM 0x188"
at the same exchange when i connect my TG589V3 it reports "concentrator name bras-ioa2-e320"
My guess i am on a Juniper dslam with Broadcom Chipst
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32136
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2014, 11:09:20 PM »

Looking at the table in the Vendor IDs section of the Line Stats page I see that Huawei is also show on the Infineon line.  :-\

In the case of the deployment of Huawei MA5616 and MA5603 MSANs for FTTC, both are Broadcom based chip-set devices.

Yes there are large Huawei MSANs in the exchange as was used by BTw


Ive marked them as IFTN = "Huawei MSAN"
and BDCM is marked with "Huawei (FTTC)" 

----
ETA  the TT MSANs also identified as IFTN
« Last Edit: May 24, 2014, 11:36:41 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32136
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2014, 11:15:53 PM »

Quote
"BDCM 0x188"

Quote
v0xa32f

AFAIK these are just the chipset model numbers.  Not sure.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27117
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2014, 11:27:02 PM »

Looking at the table in the Vendor IDs section of the Line Stats page I see that Huawei is also show on the Infineon line.  :-\

In the case of the deployment of Huawei MA5616 and MA5603 MSANs for FTTC, both are Broadcom based chip-set devices.

Yes they are the large Huawei MSANs in the exchange as was used by BTw

Ah, I see. (Well, I don't. For peer as I might at the picture that you took during your guided tour, I see nothing that "jumps out at me" and says Huawei but there is a rather subtle suggestion of ECI! I am referring to the lower shelf, far left hand end. If only I could see a high resolution version of that image . . . )

Quote
ETA  the TT MSANs also identified as IFTN

Indeed they are. As I know so very well.  ;)

Code: [Select]
ATP>shell


BusyBox vv1.9.1 (2011-09-27 11:55:09 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# xdslcmd info --vendor
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 8000
Max: Upstream rate = 1064 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5960 Kbps
Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 1020 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5494 Kbps

ChipSet Vendor Id: IFTN:0x71c6
ChipSet VersionNumber: 0x71c6
ChipSet SerialNumber:
#
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32136
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Vendor Identification Codes
« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2014, 11:35:50 PM »

Ooops sorry b*cat my mistake, that is a photo Marconi MSAN that I put up.. 
I'll remove it..  Sorry allowed myself to get distracted by someone elses post.  :-[

What I was attempting to say is that the large BTw & TT MSANs in the exchange use IFTN
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything