Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released  (Read 14532 times)

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4140
HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« on: May 15, 2014, 08:44:52 PM »

V2.1 of the GUI has just been released, along with V2.1 of the stats logging program, there will be new thread for the logging programs shortly.

The GUI can be updated via auto update, but you'll need to download the V2.1 logging program to take advantage of some of the new features. Please see the new thread regarding v2.1 of the stats logging program.

Changes in V2.1 of the GUI.

Quote
2.1.5246.34669    13-05-2014

      V2.1 release version - please ensure you are using V2.1 of the stats logging programs.

2.0.5242.34533   09-05-2014

      Altered padding on writing to ini files
      Added PC speed option
      Added Extra debugging info option
      
2.0.5225.30626  22-04-2014

      Changes to accommodate slightly different format in Zyxel modem xlogfile

2.0.5221.19990   18-04-2014

      Version 2.1 of the stats logging programs must be used with this update.
      Added button to Help & About page to open Error Logs Folder.
      Added link to Kitz forum for stats logging program updates.

2.0.5218.35661   15-04-2014

      ZyXel VMG8324-B10A to list of modems
      Enabled password entry when above modem is selected
      Added check as to whether Event & Error Logs directory exists before writing GUI error file.

2.0.5207.35846   05-04-2014

      Altered task detection as Windows Ultimate returns a slightly different error (Path instead of File) message when the task did not exist.

2.0.5196.35895   24-03-2014

      Added check at start up to see if folders are missing

2.0.5195.37343   23-03-2014

      GUI error log is now written to the Event & Error Logs folder
      Xlogfile now read from Modem Log location

2.0.5190.41808   18-03-2014

      Added modem log folder selection - defaults to ongoing folder location
      Altered modem stats watcher to monitor location specified for modem log folder

2.0.5160.16788   16-02-2014

      Added dropdown list to select modem type on modem settings tab.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 10:10:28 PM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2014, 09:08:29 PM »

All updated to V2.1 many thanks  ;)
Logged

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4140
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2014, 10:21:46 AM »

Minor update for the release version.

Quote
2.1.5251.16282   18-05-2014

      Added additional information to error log when error occurs reading modem_stats.log
         
2.1.5249.33569   16-05-2014

      Fixed unhandled exception when updating all folder names and modem log folder didn't exist.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2014, 05:01:50 PM »

I got a unhandled exception.

Procedure that caused it.

I renamed my folder when I run the stats from (made sure old service stopped first).
Copied new files over old but preserved old ini files.
Started the new gui app, which warned me folders were mismatched.
I set the folder for the first box and it asked me if I wanted the other boxes auto updates, I selected yes.
Then the unhandled exception occured, clicking continue the boxes are not auto updated.

Code: [Select]
See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.ArgumentException: The directory name F:\Drivers\HG612\HG612_Modem_Stats_CURRENT\HG612\HG612_Modem_Stats_Programs-r2.0\Ongoing_Stats\ is invalid.
   at System.IO.FileSystemWatcher.set_Path(String value)
   at HG612_Setup.Form1.btnMainFolder_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.18444 built by: FX451RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
HG612 Stats logging GUI
    Assembly Version: 2.1.5246.34669
    Win32 Version: 2.1.5246.34669
    CodeBase: file:///F:/Drivers/HG612/HG612_Modem_Stats_CURRENT/Scripts/HG612%20Stats%20logging%20GUI.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 11.0.50938.18408 built by: FX451RTMGREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.18408 built by: FX451RTMGREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.18408 built by: FX451RTMGREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.18408 built by: FX451RTMGREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.18408 built by: FX451RTMGREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.18408 built by: FX451RTMGREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Management
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.18408 built by: FX451RTMGREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Management/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Management.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


note - I just seen the above changelog, to say this bug fixed, but the app wont let me update with the mismatched folders. So Ronski I need a download link to the fixed version thanks.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 05:04:31 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2014, 05:11:25 PM »

ok another update, I renamed my folder back so I could auto update, after it updated I renamed folder again and tried to set the new path.

This time no exception error, however the auto configuration sets wrong paths (this used to work fine on old version before 2.1).

Here is the first folder which I set manually.

F:\Drivers\HG612\HG612_Modem_Stats_Programs-CURRENT
Here is what it auto configured to.
F:\Drivers\HG612\HG612_Modem_Stats_Programs-CURRENT\HG612\HG612_Modem_Stats_Programs-r2.0\Ongoing_Stats

So something broken somewhere still on this function, it somehow appended part of the old path that was set on initial execution instead of just appending '\Ongoing_Stats'

Also is the 2nd box (modem logs) supposed to be ongoing_stats or the new event & error logs folder?
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 05:15:33 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2014, 05:26:07 PM »

further update. (after manually setting all folders)

Automatic stats collection works - but I had to reconfigure, my ini file was reset.

Graphd works, I can make ongoing graphs.

Snapshot graphs fails - this worked on the previous version I was using.  The snapshot graph folder it creates has a plink log but no graphs.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2014, 05:40:22 PM »

Is this failure from scheduled or manual attempts to produce snapshot graphs?

Could we see your ini file, the data from GRAPH6_ERROR.LOG from when graphing fails & CURRENT_ERROR.LOG_file_ERROR.TXT from a sheduled and/or manually initiated event when snapshot graphs should have been produced, but failed?

Is the Plink log complete i.e. around 330KB in size?


EDIT:

Just another question......................

Is the snapshot graphing program (GRAPH6.exe) stuck in Task Manager?



« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 05:56:45 PM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2014, 06:16:26 PM »

I am talking about on demand when I hit the snapshot button in the gui.

graph6 doesnt get stuck.

I guess I need to enable the extra logs for those logs as they dont exist, I wanted to keep them off as is some huge logs, will turn them on and try again to get those logs.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2014, 06:18:44 PM »

okay.

With "enable extra debug info logging" ticked, I hear a beep when it runs, and the graphs work.

With that option disabled the graphs dont work ;)

when the option is disabled plink is about 57kb, with it enabled its 330kb.

The attached ini file is after I enabled extra debug info logging, rest is left alone.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 06:23:05 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4140
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2014, 08:38:15 PM »

ok another update, I renamed my folder back so I could auto update, after it updated I renamed folder again and tried to set the new path.

This time no exception error, however the auto configuration sets wrong paths (this used to work fine on old version before 2.1).

Here is the first folder which I set manually.

F:\Drivers\HG612\HG612_Modem_Stats_Programs-CURRENT
Here is what it auto configured to.
F:\Drivers\HG612\HG612_Modem_Stats_Programs-CURRENT\HG612\HG612_Modem_Stats_Programs-r2.0\Ongoing_Stats

So something broken somewhere still on this function, it somehow appended part of the old path that was set on initial execution instead of just appending '\Ongoing_Stats'

I can see why this is happening, when the GUI was written I only took into account the folders being one directory deep, so the path for the main folder replaces the first directory depth, thus retaining the rest of the directories. I've now updated the release version, so it will change the folder locations correctly, IE all the folder use the path of the main folder, so become sub folders of the main folder.

Quote
Also is the 2nd box (modem logs) supposed to be ongoing_stats or the new event & error logs folder?

You can have you modem log where you want, I prefer mine in the event and error logs folder, but the default is the ongoing folder.

Additional update to the release version today.

Quote
2.1.5251.34440   18-05-2014

      Added additional information to error log when error occurs reading modem_stats.log
      Minor correction to the way folder locations are updated when changing the main folder.  IE all the folders use the path of the main folder, so become sub folders of the main folder.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 08:41:20 PM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2014, 08:50:26 PM »

okay.

With "enable extra debug info logging" ticked, I hear a beep when it runs, and the graphs work.

With that option disabled the graphs dont work ;)



Could I see your CURRENT_ERROR.LOG_file_ERROR.TXT when "enable extra debug info logging" is ticked.

I should be able to stop it beeping when it is ticked & also make the graphs work when it is unticked (but I need to see the log file first).



I don't have this issue at my end (Windows 7).

Are you running Windows 8 / 8.1?



Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2014, 09:18:20 PM »

I attached full logs which include old data, 18 may (today) I installed 2.1 and the last successful snapshot graph with the box ticked was done at 18:18.

Also there is 3 CURRENT_GET_DATA_ERROR files now in the scripts folder as well, did you adjust the throttling from the working version you gave me some weeks back in 2.1?

Ok I think we can ignore those 3 files, the timstamps match when I was doing manual snapshot runs so was probably conflicts.

I am running windows 7 64bit ultimate SP1.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 09:21:54 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2014, 09:25:02 PM »

<snip>
Additional update to the release version today.

Quote
2.1.5251.34440   18-05-2014

      Added additional information to error log when error occurs reading modem_stats.log
      Minor correction to the way folder locations are updated when changing the main folder.  IE all the folders use the path of the main folder, so become sub folders of the main folder.


Thanks Ronski, updated gui.  The paths are fine as is, I am leaving on the default, I just wanted to check if thats how its set default.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2014, 11:07:59 PM »

I attached full logs which include old data, 18 may (today) I installed 2.1 and the last successful snapshot graph with the box ticked was done at 18:18.

Also there is 3 CURRENT_GET_DATA_ERROR files now in the scripts folder as well, did you adjust the throttling from the working version you gave me some weeks back in 2.1?

Ok I think we can ignore those 3 files, the timstamps match when I was doing manual snapshot runs so was probably conflicts.

I am running windows 7 64bit ultimate SP1.


When snapshot graphing failed & "enable extra debug info logging" was unticked, which PC Speed setting were you using?

the xdslcmd info --linediag command made 500 attempts to get the data before quitting & generating the CURRENT_GET_DATA_ERROR-XXXXXX-XXX.TXT files.


The FAST PC Speed setting adds some pauses to slow down the PC to the speed of the modem & generating log files also slows down the PC each time a line of data is written.


I'm 'guessing' that your PC Speed setting was SLOW, which means no pauses.

That's the setting I use at my end.
Even with Extra debugging info OFF, it only takes 227 attempts to get all the linediag data.

With Extra_debugging info ON, it only takes 66 attempts.



Just in case I need to make any more allowances for FAST PCs, would you mind trying to generate the snapshot graphs with these settings in the GUI & ini file:-

PC Speed FAST
Extra debugging info OFF
Extensive error logging OFF

When you have tried that, please post the relevant data from CURRENT_ERROR.LOG_file_ERROR.TXT


If it takes anywhere near 500 attempts to get the data with those settings, I'll either increase the pauses or increase the maximum number of attempts.


From memory, I think the highest number of attempts actually made on your setup (before v 2.1) was around 400 or so.

Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2014, 11:26:07 PM »

it was already fast so the data you need should be in existing logs.

it still fails now e.g. if I try it without the box ticked.

Can I ask why it needs more than 1 attempt, do you forcefully close the connection after a short time or something? or is the modem rejecting connections?
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 11:28:38 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: [1] 2 3 4