Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 49 50 [51] 52 53 ... 65

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 382151 times)

Fuggi

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #750 on: July 29, 2017, 12:38:36 AM »

New firmware version VMG8924-B10A_1.00(AAKL.18)C0 available dated 28/7/17.
ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/VMG8924-B10A/firmware/
Changelog mentions randomizing the supervisor password again!
« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 12:48:26 AM by Fuggi »
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3046
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #751 on: July 29, 2017, 03:21:07 AM »

No idea why they keep doing that.
They made it random in v11, then made it zyad1234 in v16. now v18 it's random again.

I notice 1 of the changelog items is
Ability to pass BTís MCT R.OAM.2 802.1ag CFM requirement
Anyone know what this is?

VMG1312-B10A has new firmware also, v12.
security fixes, randomised supervisor password, and same BT MCT thing as above
« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 03:32:41 AM by j0hn »
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1957
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #752 on: July 29, 2017, 09:10:10 AM »

Something to do with being SIN compliant?
Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3336
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #753 on: July 29, 2017, 09:39:20 AM »

MCT   Modem Conformance Testing perhaps?

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1957
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #754 on: July 29, 2017, 10:28:28 AM »

What is the difference between C0 and C0_2?
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3046
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #755 on: July 29, 2017, 11:13:37 AM »

lol, sorry should have been more specific. I was asking if anyone know what the R.OAM.2 802.1ag CFM part was.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30477
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #756 on: July 29, 2017, 04:50:02 PM »

I notice 1 of the changelog items is
Ability to pass BTís MCT R.OAM.2 802.1ag CFM requirement
Anyone know what this is?

"R.OAM.2" is a reference to "Remote Operations and Management, version 2". "Requirement, Operations and Management, Number Two".
« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 05:07:16 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2052
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #757 on: July 29, 2017, 04:59:47 PM »

No, it's a reference to requirement number 2 in the OAM category, listed in BT SIN 498.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30477
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #758 on: July 29, 2017, 05:04:40 PM »

No, it's a reference to requirement number 2 in the OAM category, listed in BT SIN 498.

Thank you.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3336
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #759 on: July 31, 2017, 12:12:26 PM »

Having read the pdf for V18 I decided to open a ticket with ZyXEL this morning asking for assurance that if I update to V18 I will not lose access to the supervisor account. I'd like to update my 8924 for the other security fixes in case I need to use it in future but not at the risk of losing my supervisor access.

I will update when I get a reply.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #760 on: July 31, 2017, 12:38:00 PM »


I will update when I get a reply.

Stuart

Please do.

I've avoided this update for that very reason.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6295
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #761 on: July 31, 2017, 01:12:34 PM »

Having read the pdf for V18 I decided to open a ticket with ZyXEL this morning asking for assurance that if I update to V18 I will not lose access to the supervisor account. I'd like to update my 8924 for the other security fixes in case I need to use it in future but not at the risk of losing my supervisor access.

I will update when I get a reply.

Stuart

I thought it was your 3925 they gave you the password for?
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3046
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #762 on: July 31, 2017, 03:28:28 PM »

It was, but he found the supervisor password himself for the 8924.
The latest firmware will (by the sounds of the changelog) change the supervisor password to something random, like with the 3925.

I'm also avoiding the update incase it loses me access.
Please post back with their response.
Logged
BT FTTP 160/30 - BQM - speed test

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3336
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #763 on: July 31, 2017, 06:48:08 PM »

Quite correct I have 8324 8924 and 3925 and now have supervisor p/w for all 3 but dont want to lose them using V18 for the 8* series.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

Iam_TJ

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #764 on: July 31, 2017, 07:29:15 PM »

I've not touched my routers in ages now, but last time I bothered with them they had lost the LAN VLAN options after a firmware upgrade. The loss is also described by another owner in the thread http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,15944.msg296642.html#msg296642.

Can I get confirmation that LAN VLAN configuration is still seen by others and if so, in which firmware versions, and where specifically it appears in the menus?

If so, then there is something in the configuration that is disabling the VLAN options. Whatever the cause, it makes the devices almost useless in my networks.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 49 50 [51] 52 53 ... 65
 

anything