Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: utube clips  (Read 4278 times)

birdieboy

• Just arrived
utube clips
« on: January 10, 2010, 10:55:30 AM »

hi all when i try to watch clips on utube they play for 5 seconds then it pauses on every clip someone said it is my broadband speed and advised me to do a speedtest, these are the results  : download 0.96 upload 0.37mbs im on tiscali broadband and my computer has windows vista home basic  i have a siemens gigaset se587 wlan dsl wireless router, can anyone give me some advice to sort my problem out,please keep any advice simple as im quite new to all this many thanks

waltergmw

• Kitizen
Re: utube clips
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2010, 11:00:27 AM »

Hi Birdleboy and welcome.

Are you connected using wireless or an ethernet cable ?

Try the cable first.

Kind regards,
Walter

birdieboy

• Just arrived
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2010, 11:28:45 AM »

i connect using wireless

waltergmw

• Kitizen
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2010, 11:32:12 AM »

I suggest the first thing to try is to use an ethernet cable and thus eliminate wireless performance problems.

UncleUB

• Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2010, 11:48:27 AM »

Hi and welcome. :)

The reason the video clip/s pause when you have a slow broadband connection is the speed at which the video clip plays is faster than your connection and thus it catches up and that is when your clip pauses.It then has to wait for a new buffer zone so it can restart playing.