Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Netgear router: setting up a Linux computer for  (Read 3283 times)

mike004

Netgear router: setting up a Linux computer for
« on: May 08, 2009, 03:47:31 PM »

I am a broadband newbie. I have just ordered a package from UK Online. They are shipping a Netgear DG834GT router, which I understand has an ethernet cable connection. So it should work OK with my old ThinkPad laptop, running Fedora Core 6 Linux. I do not plan to use the wireless capability of this router at the moment.

A couple of questions, regarding how to set up a Linux computer for broadband:

* I have installed a PCMCIA ethernet card in my laptop. Fedora recognises it OK. For the moment, I have given it a "dummy" IP address of 10.0.0.1, but when i connect up to the router, I expect I will need to reconfigure the card to DHCP? There is an option in the config dialog to do this, so no problem.
* Do I need to set up a DSL connection on Fedora?
* I have enabled a basic firewall on Fedora, and turned off most of the services I do not need. I understand that the router offers good protection from DoS attacks and the like. Any other simple measures I can make to secure my broadband connection?

Thanks
Mike

kitz

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Netgear router: setting up a Linux computer for
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2009, 04:01:41 PM »

By default the Netgear has DHCP turned on... in which case it will automatically allocate an IP in the 192.168.0.x range to your machine

The routers IP address will be 192.168.0.1 so you are either best letting it pick up one itself..
OR allocating something like 192.168.0.2 to your ethernet card to enable them to communicate on the same subnet.