Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Annoying Internet Problem (UPDATED)  (Read 13545 times)

Salukigirl

Annoying Internet Problem (UPDATED)
« on: September 05, 2008, 10:30:14 AM »

Hi,

I have a problem with my internet and wondered if anyone can help me out.
I am on BT Yahoo Internet, connected by a USB Speedtouch modem (Thomson Speedtouch 330) which came with the package and I have been using for about 4 years. I have had no problem whatsoever with it (as far as I can say I have never been booted offline with it) but I moved to my current address about a year ago and that is when my problems started. Right from the start of hooking up my computer the day I moved in I have had connection problems. When I turn on my computer I never have a problem, but after a while I can't load any pages - it's like I am disconnected but I can still see the connection icon saying I am still connected. If I click disconnect and try to reconnect, it can't connect again unless I either reboot or unplug/replug in my modem, then I can connect. I can be on the internet an hour or more before it does it then other times it will do it a few times an hour. BT told me I don't have a line problem so I figured it must be something to do with my computer. I ended up having to reformat and that didn't fix it, so I connected with my laptop and that had the same problem too. I have used my sisters computer on my connection, and I just bought a new pc - all the computers do it so I know it's nothing to do with my computer so I then tried out another of the exact modem and the other modem did it too so I can't see how it can be a modem problem? The only thing I do differently than I did at my previous address is my extension phone wire is longer as it now has to go upstairs to my bedroom. Someone suggested