Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10

Author Topic: Checking My Line Stats  (Read 41254 times)

Floydoid

• Addicted Kitizen
  • Prog Rock Fan
Checking My Line Stats
« on: October 18, 2007, 09:32:11 AM »

I'd like to check my line stats, not for any reason other than I've never done it before, and I thought it might be something useful to do so I can hopefully learn a bit more about ADSL technology.  So I was wondering if you guys and girls would be able to walk me through the procedure, and maybe even offer some hints and tweaks.
"We're going to need a bigger swear jar."

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Checking My Line Stats
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2007, 09:49:14 AM »

Your first port of call should be http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.htm which tells you how to get the stats for many popular modems and routers. If yours isn't on the list then if you let us know what it is we might be able to help. Tweaks will depend on what you're using too.
  Eric

Floydoid

• Addicted Kitizen
  • Prog Rock Fan
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2007, 04:06:40 PM »

I'm using the good old speedtouch 330... here's my stats:

ReceiveAttenuation_dB= 25
ReceiveMargin_dB= 19
SendAttenuation_dB= 15
SendMargin_dB= 16

I haven't a clue what those mean, but am willing to learn... now is there anything else you need to know?

[BTW Kitz, on the speedtouch page that you link to, there is no mention of Dr Speedtouch... unless I'm missing something... I found it a bit confusing.  The direct link to the file works though.]

mr_chris

• Kitizen
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2007, 04:27:24 PM »

Explanations of what these figures relate to are on this page - there's a wealth of information about ADSL on this site.