Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Noisy line  (Read 1994 times)

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Noisy line
« on: August 11, 2011, 07:46:00 PM »

Hi
Well It's my turn now to have problems . Normally I synch at about 7800Kbps with SNR margin of about 9 db.
been connected To WAN for 43days . Today noticed High SNR margin about 17 db and reduced synch rate about  4500Kbps .
Did a reboot and as expected SNR dropped to about 9db with synch back up at 7200Kbps ,a little lower than usual .Not totally unexpected as to optimise my synch rate I have to be selective when I reboot.
Now comes the problem . The SNR margin  graph was quite noisy  for my line normally the SNR margin is +_0.1dbfrom its mean.  At about 16:15 : Lost Wan again  reconnected with slightly higher SNR margin and slightly lower Synch rate but with the normal steady SNR margin , unfortunatel only for about  30 minutes . Then lost Synch again ,when it reconnected the SNR margin was just over 8db with some noise on the trace  and  the synch rate has dropped to Just over 4500Kbps.
Checked the phone and found it noisy .
Reported to BT using on line check ,Bt confirm its on their side .
Normal service is expected to be achieved by WED 17 AUGUST speedy huh >:(
At least I still have a connection   Touch wood  :(
  see attachments for info
Nothing to do but wait  :)
Regards Jeff
Logged
zen user

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Noisy line
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2011, 06:46:25 AM »

At least the diagnosis seems to have been quick. :)

We'll all be waiting with bated breath next Wednesday.
Logged
  Eric

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: Noisy line
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2011, 07:04:07 PM »

Hi
wonders never cease  ;D
Late last night(nearer to early morning . The SNR margin shot up by about 8db , still spiky +- 1db ,note my router does plot 0.1 steps .

I rebooted router and hey presto synch back to 7040Kbps with an 8.5 db SNR margin . I then logged off .
This morning all OK  nice clean trace !
waiting to hear from BT .Still bit of noise on line but nowhere  as bad as it was .
Regards Jeff
Logged
zen user

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Noisy line
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2011, 10:31:13 PM »

Here's hoping it's fixed. :fingers:
Logged
  Eric

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: Noisy line
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2011, 01:47:16 PM »

Hi
Might have a costly  problem .
I went out this morning ,when I came back a  BT OR van was home .When I got in He had just finished checking my line . Found nothing wrong except some faint noise from my phone .
This I knew about but was not a problem . Certainly no problem with BB.
Now my guess is that I might be charged for this visit . I did not ask for or expect this home  visit as the online checker stated that it was a BT network problem .
I was expecting to get an Email saying  they had fixed the line as everything was back to normal. However no one had been working on the fault till today ,so the fault  may reappear .
So be aware that the on line fault checker may not Identify the correct  fault location , and you may get an unexpected  OR visit .
I will just have to wait and see if
1 I get charged  and
2 If I have an intermittent fault skulking somewhere
Anyway my BB is ok and hoping will remain so .
Regards Jeff
 
« Last Edit: August 13, 2011, 01:49:52 PM by jeffbb »
Logged
zen user

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Noisy line
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2011, 03:07:56 PM »

I don't really think that they could get away with charging you for a visit which you didn't ask for, after they had already told you that the fault was in their network. Perhaps you're worrying unnecessarily Jeff. :)
Logged
  Eric