Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Internet Problem  (Read 4008 times)

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Internet Problem
« on: March 04, 2011, 07:47:28 AM »

Hi all

When I tried to connect to any browser this morning none would load.I restarted my pc and got onto Firefox.But now many sites won't load,the site address is coming up in the address bar,but the site isn't loading

I have tried with Chrome and the same problem.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39533
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2011, 08:02:53 AM »

This sounds like a DNS problem. To check this, when you find a site which won't load, open a command line window and type 'ping' followed by the address, e.g.
Code: [Select]
ping bbc.co.uk
(I'm not familiar with the Windows implementation of ping, so you may need to type Ctrl+C to stop the ping command running.)

The ping command should come back with the IP address of the site (e.g. 1.2.3.4) but if it doesn't then you do have a DNS problem.
Logged
  Eric

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 08:32:59 AM »

UnkyUb, further to the above, to do a ping test in Windows go start>run and when that opens type in cmd and hit ok.

A window looking like the image under will open, in there and starting from where there will be a flashing cursor, type in as per roseway's code and then hit the enter key.
The test will run and detail of the several hops etc will be listed in that window.

In Windows, no need to stop the command line running as such......when you have your info. just click the little X in top right hand corner.


Logged

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2468
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2011, 09:11:54 AM »

this morning none would load.
What ISP are you with?
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4422
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2011, 09:14:32 AM »

I had the same problem this morning with Opera and Firefox on my Linux machine. I think it is DNS problems somewhere along the route. It has cleared up now.
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2011, 09:14:50 AM »

Thanks guys. :)

Sorry for not replying sooner,just returned from shops. :)

All seems ok now. :fingers:

This has happened once before, a few weeks back..Just a thought, I have been using Chrome a lot the last few weeks.I  never had this problem before I started using Chrome.  :shrug2:

Could this be something to do with Google DNS ?

I haven't changed any settings/downloaded anything(other than windows updates,flash,Java etc)recently
Logged

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2468
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2011, 09:26:49 AM »

Well I had a very similar experience this morning which was an ISP problem......

Which is why I asked:
What ISP are you with?
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2011, 10:10:15 AM »

Well I had a very similar experience this morning which was an ISP problem......

Which is why I asked:
What ISP are you with?

Hi HP  :)

I'm with O2 LLU
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4422
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2011, 10:22:23 AM »

>> I'm with O2 LLU <<

So am I.
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2011, 10:29:51 AM »

>> I'm with O2 LLU <<

So am I.

I'm not certain but I think HP Sauce is with BE,which might be why all 3 of us have been affected.?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39533
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2011, 10:32:34 AM »

Very likely, I would say.
Logged
  Eric

Zoe

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2011, 01:34:27 PM »

Hi UncleUB  :)

Are you using GoogleDNS ?

Only...

I've experienced exactly the same problem a couple of times in the last week  :(

Started : Last Tuesday Night ... Rebooted Router ... Back To Normal!
Few Days Later : Same Thing ... Rebooted Router ... Back To Normal!
Wednesday Morning : Same Again  >:( Rebooted Router ... Back To Normal!

Seems OK at the minute!
Don't really want to change back to AOL DNS / Talk Talk DNS as they are really bad.
And I didn't like Open DNS... Seemed much slower than Googles.
Google DNS has served me well up to now... Pray that isn't about to change  :-\


Zoe
Logged
Talk Talk - Faster Fibre: 38/10
Estimated Download Speed 39Mbps to 40Mbps.
Minimum Guaranteed Speed 35Mbps
Actual Sync Speed 31Mbps Down & 8Mbps Up
Modem/Router: Netgear D6400

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2468
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2011, 01:49:41 PM »

I'm not certain but I think HP Sauce is with BE,which might be why all 3 of us have been affected.?
I am.
It was a fault in an external interconnect suppliers network apparently. The rumours suggest Level 3.
Logged

geep

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 452
    • My ST546 Statistics
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2011, 03:07:52 PM »

@Zoe and all - you can run a simple test on your own and other DNS servers speeds with this: http://www.grc.com/dns/benchmark.htm

It doesn't install anything - you just download an .exe file and run it. It creates a file or two of log and configuration data.
You can compare your existing DNS with others, and also put other possible DNS into a list and compare all.

Cheers,
Peter
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Internet Problem
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2011, 06:39:56 PM »

Quote
Hi UncleUB   :)

Are you using GoogleDNS?

Hi Zoe,

I don't think so,as far as I'm aware I'm using O2's.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2