Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Unable to connect to site frustration  (Read 11193 times)

AdrianH

  • Guest
Re: Unable to connect to site frustration
« Reply #30 on: February 25, 2011, 12:46:15 PM »

Hijack this :

1) you have SpyBot S+D installed which is why your host files was hard to alter, it is protected by Spybot , personally I would remove this application , it is way past its sell by date and doesn't work well with Win7.

2) In services I would expect to see your antivirus system listed, what are you running?

Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3271
Re: Unable to connect to site frustration
« Reply #31 on: February 25, 2011, 01:10:05 PM »

Hi Adrian!

Spybot: Interesting: OOI have you any links about its efficiency or suggested replacements.

Antivirus: ATM MS Security Essentials  after some probs with anor prog. The ROUNDUIT is active for something else. ;D
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Unable to connect to site frustration
« Reply #32 on: February 25, 2011, 01:25:15 PM »

Malwarebytes is excellent ,free and well recommended

Download it safely from Filehippo

http://www.filehippo.com/download_malwarebytes_anti_malware/
Logged

AdrianH

  • Guest
Re: Unable to connect to site frustration
« Reply #33 on: February 25, 2011, 02:48:43 PM »

Yup, MalwareBytes and another is SuperantiSpyware both have good free offerings.

SpyBot needs removing but first undo any changes it has made to your system like your hosts files,Tea Timer etc.

There has been varying comment on SB S+D but my own experiences of it in both Vista and Win7 are very poor indeed. It should be noted that Win7 has a lot of inbuilt protection and is a lot better at dealing with malware than previous versions. Ideally you should browse in a limited account which prevents a lot of infections anyway.

Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3271
Re: Unable to connect to site frustration
« Reply #34 on: February 26, 2011, 03:47:51 PM »

Spybot is gone!

I was quite satisfied last evening, when I reached the site used as an example with bo trouble, and very grateful :)

Now, despite having placed a # before 127.0.0.1 as suggested by BritBat and ensuring it is still there after updating HOSTS, the problem has re-emerged.

So now what? :crazy: :wall:
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Unable to connect to site frustration
« Reply #35 on: February 26, 2011, 05:28:39 PM »

Are you sure nothing is changing your hosts file and putting the block back?

Find the IP of the site you want to visit then change the host file:

From:
#127.0.0.1  www.googleadservices.com

to

Its IP address  www.googleadservices.com

Then it should go to the correct place but should the IP change you may get a blank again.

Example:
74.125.230.116 Google.co.uk
74.125.230.116


« Last Edit: February 26, 2011, 05:38:49 PM by BritBrat »
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Unable to connect to site frustration
« Reply #36 on: February 26, 2011, 05:46:33 PM »

Rename your host file to hosts_OLD

Open notepad and put the text below in it and save as hosts (not hosts.txt) in "C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc"
Write protect it.

Are you using Windows 7 as you may have more than one hosts file?

Quote
# Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

127.0.0.1       localhost

« Last Edit: February 26, 2011, 05:49:17 PM by BritBrat »
Logged

renluop

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3271
Re: Unable to connect to site frustration
« Reply #37 on: February 28, 2011, 08:15:37 AM »

Thanks BritBat :thumbs: :drink:
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]