Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Detective wanted  (Read 2535 times)

mywifeshusband

Detective wanted
« on: January 25, 2011, 10:08:53 PM »

Now I’m not technical in a telephone or Broadband sense but  I was a building services maintenance manager and engineer in my past and I do know a bit about systematic fault finding. I can also learn. I have needed to!

BT & I are at loggerheads over my BB service, which since the middle of December has persistently dropped out on most (but not all days). I have had 6 or is it 7 BB & Openreach engineers all visiting, doing their tests, and with the exception of one, saying they cannot find any faults with my equipment, the BT apparatus, or the Openreach cabling. I concede that the stats seem to corroborate this.

One engineer early on in the saga speculated that it might be my phone causing the problem , but it was only a guess. (But on the strength of his reporte BT have charged me £127.99 for his visit, despite not fixing my problem)

Guess or not I went out and bought a brand new BT Phone and answer machine, but of course the fault persisted: and it is now more than 5 weeks old.

The BT Home Type A I have found out has a history I believe of wireless connection problems and its transformer power supply certainly makes a great deal of noise at 610khz. This is the router, which I’m using at present, but in the past I have had similar problems with other routers. If my problem is REIN noise from this source why do I get some good days when the BB connection stays in sync perfectly well.

Whilst listening to the Rein noise from the Power supply the last engineer demonstrated how the sound of the router trying to re sync could be heard on the 610khz tuned speaker.