Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)  (Read 6437 times)

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2007, 03:48:35 PM »

Thanks Kitz... I understand it a bit more now. :)
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31907
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2007, 03:50:26 PM »

yw

If you get stuck give us a yell :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2007, 03:59:16 PM »

Sure I will... I feel really silly that all these years of using PC's I've never learned about networking them.
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #18 on: September 05, 2007, 05:27:37 PM »

I've never learned about networking them.
Once you have, then I think you will probably say to yourself "I wish I had done this before"

Some of the advantages, such as saving backup copies etc are well worth the initial bit of time and trouble.
The only thing you may need to get used to if transferring BIG files (GB +) is that it does take a "little longer" than just from one drive/partition to another.

Another very useful and relatively cheap add-on is a KVM switch, this allows you to use just the one monitor, mouse and screen from either of the PCs. (if they are reasonably close together)


PS:
It's not being silly at all.
The silly people are the ones that never ask for help, so give up eventually.
Logged

Pwiggler

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1542
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #19 on: September 05, 2007, 06:05:20 PM »

good closing statement OF   ;)
Logged
Paul

Achilles Last Stand

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3554
  • http://www.saveplanetrock.co.uk/ Save Planet Rock!
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #20 on: September 05, 2007, 06:47:57 PM »

... and I'm watching with interest because I keep promising myself that I'll do it too - altho the old PC is without network card and is Win98... and before I do any of that, it'll need more RAM  ;)
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #21 on: September 05, 2007, 07:02:54 PM »

the old PC is without network card and is Win98... and before I do any of that, it'll need more RAM  ;)

The amount of RAM on the PC will not make any difference to the actual network.
Network cards are quite cheap, maybe 5+
If one of the PC's is XP, then the "Network Setup Wizard" allows for Win 98, (although not quite as straightforward as XP to XP)
Logged

dave.m

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1453
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #22 on: September 05, 2007, 07:21:11 PM »

Computeractive Issue249 (on the news-stands tomorrow) , on page 30 is a three page feature on Home Networking.
Then in the Workshops section is 'Set Up A Network: Part 1', 4 pages with pictures and full instructions (page 36)

If you don't subscribe, Floydy, could be worth just buying that issue for two explanations of networking.
dave  ;)
Logged

Pwiggler

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1542
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #23 on: September 05, 2007, 07:29:48 PM »

really easy on xp - win98   ..... copy the file netsetup.exe from the xp machine onto a cd/floppy, stick that in the win98 machine and d/click the file in explorer and follow the wizard !!!!

Logged
Paul

Achilles Last Stand

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3554
  • http://www.saveplanetrock.co.uk/ Save Planet Rock!
Re: Really Stupid Question (connecting 2 PC's)
« Reply #24 on: September 05, 2007, 08:29:07 PM »


The amount of RAM on the PC will not make any difference to the actual network.


I appreciate that, but the last time I used it, it was because my old eMachine had died and I got so desperate I loaded up the BT Broadband software without thinking and it almost ground to a halt so even if I just uninstall it again, I think it deserves a little help  ;)

I suppose I should just get rid really, but I was so thankful to still have it the last time, I'm loathe to take the chance.

Of course I still have the old eMachine too, just in case I get the urge to replace the mobo (my husband hates me  ::))


Sorry Dave and Paul - didn't mean to ignore you, both useful comments so thanks.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything