Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: BT Total Broadband  (Read 9375 times)

Dabber

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #30 on: December 23, 2007, 03:33:19 PM »

Can the Speedtouch be used with Vision (yes I was daft enough to go for this as well) and my hub phone? If so I may ask BT to agree to swap over if they can't sort out the crap they've given me.
Logged

Dabber

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #31 on: December 24, 2007, 11:26:42 AM »

Well BT have been at it again. They have done "something" to my line and the speed is now all over the place ranging between 1Mb (bake bean can speeds) and 6Mb (nice). When I questioned them they denied all knowledge and said the line/router must have sorted itself :no:

The errors figures now are going ballastic - see below - but I'm confused now. When I started getting the CRC and HEC errors before, the router would re-sync itself after apprx 48 hours at a slightly lower speed. Now the downstream speed is constant at 7552. Why??

Also I now have loads (101M) FEC errors which I believe are connected to check bit data to the outgoing data. However, this I believe eats into bandwidth therefore I would have expected a really low speed all the time but my speeds are all over the place. Unfortunately asking this question of BT India is like asking someone to explain the theory of relativity. Can anyone explain what these FEC errors are and has this "stopped" the router re-syncing (cos of the CRC errors)


Uptime: 6 days, 22:43:37
 
Modulation: G.992.1 annex A
 
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 7,552
 
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 308.69 / 643.55
 
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.5
 
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 15.5 / 31.0
 
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 21.0 / 8.5
 
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
 
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
 
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 4 / 0
 
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
 
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
 
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1,151 / 0
 
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 101,599,500
 
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 37,562
 
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 35,564


Sorry to be a pain, but I've really coming to the end of my tether with BT. I'm now looking at contacting Otello and getting them to help sort it out. I would look to leave and get them to sue me for the rest of the contract but if the problem is the line then moving to someone else will not resolve owt as I would still be stuck with a crap line.


Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #32 on: December 24, 2007, 02:09:33 PM »

My Be line racks up the FEC errors like you wouldn't believe... but the line still performs fine. Unless your line is absolutely perfect, you'll never get an error-free line.

101 Million FEC errors over nearly 7 days of uptime is probably a very small proportion of the total bandwidth that you have used, and certainly won't have anything except a negligible performance hit.

I don't know whether the figure reported as "FEC errors" by a router means FEC errors that have been corrected, in which case, that would be good, and shows that Interleaving is doing the trick nicely, or whether it's errors encountered whilst trying to correct the errors... but I have a feeling it's the first one.

The number of CRC and HEC errors are important, and aren't really that high over 7 days.

If I were you I would be tempted to leave it for a bit and see how it goes. Are your speeds generally bad at peak time (which at the moment is probably more like all day, every day, except the wee small hours). Any chance of trying a speedtest at silly o'clock in the morning to see if your speed issues are now simply down to contention (either at the exchange or your ISP)?
Logged
Chris

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32444
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #33 on: December 24, 2007, 02:23:33 PM »

>> I don't know whether the figure reported as "FEC errors" by a router means FEC errors that have been corrected, in which case, that would be good, and shows that Interleaving is doing the trick nicely.

Thats what I'm led to believe
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Dabber

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #34 on: December 27, 2007, 03:48:15 PM »

Hi Chris,

I've tried the speedtests at all hours between 0700 and 2300 on all days. Sometimes the weekend is when the line is fastest, sometimes its early pm on a weekday. There doesn't seem to be a pattern other than I normally had a "good" 3 days then the speed would tail off until it was bake bean can speeds. BT would do something at the exchange the speed would rise, stablise for a few days and then fall again.

However since they did a change (their words) at the exchange just before Xmas the router has stopped re-syncing which is good but the speeds are now all over the place (I maybe back in the training phase again??). Another engineer (a specialist this time  :)) is coming out on Monday to sort it out again. Tha's after I lost my rag with the Indian guy on the end of the phone who had logged onto my PC and decided it was the number of cookies I had as well as the security settings on my browser - I kid you not  :lol:
Logged

soms

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 537
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #35 on: December 30, 2007, 11:18:50 AM »

Can the Speedtouch be used with Vision (yes I was daft enough to go for this as well) and my hub phone? If so I may ask BT to agree to swap over if they can't sort out the crap they've given me.

BT Total Broadband can be used with any ADSL router, provided you are using the right PPP username and password.

(Username: firstname.surname@btbroadband.com, password: none required but bt if router insists)

And the BT Vision box works with any router as well. It communicates like any other IP device and I have no problems with it downloading content through my netgear router. I dont know if the Home Hubs are pre-configured with any QoS priorities but the only reason they want you to use it is so that the support process is kept simple.

The BT Vision box itself shouldn't cause lots of errors as it is just an IP device on your network. Line errors should be down to the communication between the router and exchange.

Note that I have heard that the Vision box, Vision platform and the broadband equipment in the exchange do communicate about various things such as speed and that depending on what the Vision box reports to the platform the platform can apparently mess around adjusting the noise margin, target speeds etc.

Whether that is all correct I haven't a clue. Perhaps again it might be something home hub specific.

As far as I know you cannot configure BTTB VoIP Lines on anything other than the Home Hub or Voyager routers.
You could at one time buy a Voyager 1500 I think it is which is a add-on VoIP router you can connect to an existing
router. You then configure it up and plug your phones in. I dont think it has DECT though.

You might also be able to configure a Home Hub or something and daisy chain it up but I dont think that works. I havent tried as I dont really think much of VoIP (cheap, con, fad, etc etc) and hence dont use it.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2007, 11:22:08 AM by soms »
Logged

Dabber

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #36 on: December 30, 2007, 03:41:42 PM »

Thanks Soms.

I'll speak with the engineer tomorrow and see if they'll agree to swap out the router. If not I'll put my Netgear back on and see if the Vision works. Its not working at the moment as the bloody thing keeps freezing. If it still doesn't work with the Netgear BT can come and pick up he box and take it back.
Logged

soms

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 537
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #37 on: December 30, 2007, 06:34:54 PM »

No problem.

What you'll find with with the Vision box is that on-demand, if you have ever tried it, will not work if your IP profile is less than 2000k I think it is.

When we first had it a while back the line was not that great, >63dB attenuation with a maximum sync speed of around 1.5mbps on a good day.

As a result the box worked in the sense that it registered with the platform servers and was able to download the programme guide, software updates and so on but refused to stream on-demand video.

A couple of months ago the line improved presumably after some works somewhere and now syncs comfortably over the 2mbps mark and everything works.
Logged

Dabber

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #38 on: December 31, 2007, 12:04:05 PM »

well the engineer has been and gone and hey presto, he has found, what he thinks, is the problem :)

Looks like an engineer at some point in the past had bodged a repair job in a junction box outside. He's now removed it completely and the errors have virtually disappeared. Speed is now around 5.5Mb and the household is now a swear free zone again - for the time being ;)

Its nice to have a BT engineer who was more interested in sorting the problem out and than getting back out through the front door.

A big thanks to all those people who helped on the forum - got to be the best forum for broadband issues.

Happy New Year to everyone
Logged

guest

  • Guest
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #39 on: December 31, 2007, 12:18:03 PM »

To be fair most BT engineers DO want to sort out problems but they are given workloads which are physically impossible to do unless they either drive well above the speed limit or do unpaid overtime.
Logged

Azzaka

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • SysAdmin
    • A Designers Work in Progress
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #40 on: December 31, 2007, 12:56:33 PM »

To be fair most BT engineers DO want to sort out problems but they are given workloads which are physically impossible to do unless they either drive well above the speed limit or do unpaid overtime.

Not to mention that engineers aren't allowed to do echange work if they are sent out as a CSE.
Logged
I Sync', I Auth', therefore I am.
Online

guest

  • Guest
Re: BT Total Broadband
« Reply #41 on: December 31, 2007, 01:05:20 PM »

If BT had a SERIOUS purge of middle management then they would see profit AND customer satisfaction rates soar. Working for BT used to be a good career. It really isn't now :(
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

anything