Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: MsMpEng.exe ???  (Read 17137 times)

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #15 on: September 03, 2010, 03:10:16 PM »

Oooh thanks, unkyUb..........must learn to read... :-[
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #16 on: September 03, 2010, 05:09:22 PM »

Ooooh thank you for your efforts TD   .....  and to Unc for passing on the info  .... I was invited out for coffee  :D    but back now   ......  I'll have another look at Opera too  ......   bfn
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #17 on: September 03, 2010, 05:11:53 PM »

Re Opera......my Opera browser is now not much behind FF in memory usage...latest showing 282.468k
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #18 on: September 03, 2010, 05:23:16 PM »

Opera will hold onto ram for as long as it is open, and ram usage will accumulate during the session. If you have visited sites that are graphics heavy or contain a lot of flash items the use of ram will increase dramatically as you surf.....even if you go back to simple websites again, Opera will hold the accumulated ram that you are using now or have used during that session.

Opera will then return all ram when it is shut down.........so a wee shut down now and again is a useful device if your machine is light on resources.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2010, 05:26:10 PM by tuftedduck »
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #19 on: September 03, 2010, 05:39:01 PM »

Thanks for those comments TD.Tbh I do keep an eye on the processor usage(I have one of those gadgets on the vista sidebar)When the second core is up to about 65% usage I just close the browser and start again after a few seconds.As you say It drops dramatically when you close the browser,usually to about 30% usage in my case.  :)
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #20 on: September 03, 2010, 05:51:17 PM »

In the short term I have binned Bing !  and I did away with MSN many moons ago  ....  off to look at Opera !
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #21 on: September 03, 2010, 05:58:48 PM »

Opera is good Kate,does take a bit of finding your way round,but very good.

And there is always Tufted technical help available if you get stuck  ;D

Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #22 on: September 04, 2010, 09:15:43 AM »

Before going any further, scottiesmum, sad to say you have a bit of a nasty process running on your computer and it should be removed as soon as possible.  :(

Process Launcher.exe is undesirable.

Go to the task manager and kill that process, then go into msconfig (start>run>type in msconfig > ok) look for that item on the startup tab and in you can find it, uncheck as a startup item.

Then go into add/remove programs and look for a prog "Webshot" or one containing that word.

Rebbot...then do a deepsacan with you antimalware      prog.

Sorry about this, but do not be too alarmed, it should be easy enough to remove.
Let us know how you get on.  :)
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #23 on: September 04, 2010, 09:29:35 AM »

 :o    TD  a big thank you first of all for taking this trouble  ...   just to be sure I'm removing the right thing  ...  do you refer to item No. 8 in the list in between   Sychost  exe and  CorCom exe  ?
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #24 on: September 04, 2010, 09:47:26 AM »

>>between   Sychost  exe and  CorCom exe  <<

Yes, that's the one.

ps svchost.exe, not sychost.exe.........if you really had sychost.exe, you would have troubles.... >:D ....but you don't.. :)
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #25 on: September 04, 2010, 09:56:43 AM »

 :flower:  thanks TD   ....  oops ! perhaps I  need spectacles  :D
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #26 on: September 04, 2010, 10:07:07 AM »

I've removed Launcher; did the msconfig  and looked at start up but nothing listed there, Webshot not mentioned at all in Add Remove list.  I'm now going to reboot and then do the scan, so it will be some while before I'm back ... :)
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #27 on: September 04, 2010, 10:09:39 AM »

 :fingers:
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #28 on: September 04, 2010, 10:37:12 AM »

Have been running through the rest of these processes.

There are a few that are not needed as running services but which can be invoked manually as and when you need them...things such as the Java updater, your webcam etc but in total these items will not recover a great deal of resources.

I do notice that France Telecom in it's various guises ( alertmodule.exe , oranconfigrecover.exe , desktop.exe etc ) is using a bit of RAM........do you not connect via a router? If so, do you really need that software ?

The main culprits of the disappearing RAM are the two heavies FireFox and Essential......and I suspect the problem will rear it's head when you are using Firefox intensely...heavy graphics, lots of flash, lots of open tabs ...........and possibly a switch from  of them to a lighter program may be an idea.

Did you manage to confirm the amount of installed........a screenie of the TaskManager "performance" tab would tell us.
Logged

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: MsMpEng.exe ???
« Reply #29 on: September 04, 2010, 01:06:38 PM »

I've done the scan TD  ...    the Malwarebytes log file is here  ...

04/09/2010 13:51:56
mbam-log-2010-09-04 (13-51-56).txt

Scan type: Full scan (C:\|)
Objects scanned: 253970
Time elapsed: 2 hour(s), 32 minute(s), 3 second(s)

Memory Processes Infected: 0
Memory Modules Infected: 0
Registry Keys Infected: 0
Registry Values Infected: 0
Registry Data Items Infected: 0
Folders Infected: 0
Files Infected: 0

Memory Processes Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Memory Modules Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Keys Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Values Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Data Items Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Folders Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Files Infected:
(No malicious items detected)


The Task Manager Screen shot performance is here  


BUT    :o :o      The Launcher.exe is back in the Task Manager processes   :'(

Re... FT   ....  I connect to the internet by my WiFi connected Livebox  

I don't know whether to  ;D or  :cry2:   ......  :D

I don't think the screen shot is any good  ...  I've done another one  !!

Also the one with the Launcher.exe showing again



[attachment deleted by admin]

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: September 04, 2010, 01:15:15 PM by scottiesmum »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4