Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Micrsoft .Net 3.5  (Read 6612 times)

Peter

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
  • My Country needed me????
Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« on: August 24, 2010, 04:32:54 PM »

I've installed Hallmark Card Studio 2009 Deluxe, after installing it a pop up message informed me I needed Microsoft .NET 3.5 to run this, I accepted the download which appeard to go fine until at the very end a 'Instalation Error' message apeared.

I searched for .Net 3.5 and found I needed to unistall earlier versions before installing the newer one.
On checking 'Add & Remove' programmes I found I had:

.Net. 1.1
.Net 2.0 Sservice Pack 2
,Net 3.0 SP2
.Net 3.5 service Pack 1 already installed.

My question is can I safely uninstal all previous .Net and leave the 3.5 SP1 or must I remove all, or do nowt?


Peter
« Last Edit: August 24, 2010, 05:01:09 PM by Peter »
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 04:53:17 PM »

Quote
My question is can I safely uninstal all previous .Net and leave the 3.3 SP1 or must I remove all, or do nowt?

You mention SP 3.5....where does 3.3 SP1 come into play  :-\





Logged

Peter

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
  • My Country needed me????
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2010, 05:02:55 PM »

Sorry Uncle, my typo I'm afraid, it should be 3.5 SP1, I have now corrested that.

Peter
PS What a quick response that was, thank you.
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2010, 05:07:26 PM »

The procedure seems to vary between different OSs............which do you have.

The official Microsoft advice for Vista is :-

Use the Net Framework cleanup tool to remove ALL of the Net Framework versions. Then reinstall in this order: 3.5 Sp1 --> 1.1, ---> 1.1 Sp1.

3.5 Sp1 will handle the 2.0 (if not on Vista where it is part of the OS) and 3.0 installs automatically.

Probably a good idea to use the stand alone versions, rather than the "updates".
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2010, 06:05:12 PM »

I use Vista and have Microsoft .Net 3.5 installed,I have just checked and it was installed on the 6thFeb 2010 via auto updates.

 also have Microsoft.NET Framework4 Client profile installed,which was done via auto updates on 23 June 2010(haven't a clue what it is) ;D

As I can't see any other versions,it looks as though when 3.5 SP1 was installed other version were removed(I of course could be wrong about that)
Logged

Peter

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
  • My Country needed me????
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2010, 07:19:56 PM »

Sorry again I should have said I have XP Home with SP3
Peter
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2010, 07:17:19 AM »

@ unkyUb........I think you are correct in that....as you have been updating automatically, the items have been coming in the correct sequence and have been sorting themselves out.
Reading between the lines, though, I get the impression that Peter has been and is still trying to update manually.

@ Peter...the process above should work ok for XP as well as Vista.
Logged

Peter

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
  • My Country needed me????
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2010, 02:38:50 PM »

 :(This is turning into a nightmare! >:(

I had also asked Hallmark for info on this and they replied with a very short nine step method to install Net 3.5 SP1
But said I needed to uninstall all other versions.
To do this I had to start with the newest first then go through the list from bottom to top.

I then followed the Hallmark support installation guide and it worked a treat, first time no problem.

This morning I found I could not access some sites on IE 8, looking in Add/Remove programmes I found

 ,Net 2.0 SP2
         3.0 SP2
         3.5 SP1

All installed again?!

I have removed all of them again and am waiting for IE 8 to work properly, meanwhile I have had to use Firefox to access those sites I need, such as this one. 

Has anyone else had IE 8 problems?

Peter
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2010, 02:49:25 PM »

Hi Peter,

IE8 works fine for me but tbh I very rarely use it,much prefer Firefox and Opera.
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2010, 02:56:12 PM »

Peter, just removing these items via add/remove program list is not sufficient. As I mentioned above, you really need to download and run the uninstaller utility on each of the items you have installed.

Get the tool from and have a read at the guide at http://www.aboutonlinetips.com/repair-remove-and-uninstall-net-framework/
Logged

Peter

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
  • My Country needed me????
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2010, 11:32:25 AM »

Right, I've used that tool and now have .Net 3.5 SP 1 installed again.

I'm now getting Windows updates for this, but they will not install, I get a message saying 'Some updates did not install'

Any tips that don't involve buy another programme, even how to remove the yellow updates shield will do.

Peter Perplexus
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2010, 04:32:47 PM »

With Windows XP, it is not possible to have only ".net framework 3.5" without also having at ".net framework 2.0" installed.

So apart from the what may seem like a waste of space being occupied with earlier versions, "you can't have one without the other"

Vista may be different and I can't comment on that.


>> even how to remove the yellow updates shield will do.

I don't believe you can remove the yellow shield as it is telling you you have updates pending, in the past the only way to remove the shield is to let windows install the updates.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 04:36:05 PM by oldfogy »
Logged

Peter

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
  • My Country needed me????
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2010, 05:00:41 PM »

I should have said that .net Framework 2.0 is also installed.

I would install the updates if I could, but they just will not install.

I've added a Printscreen pic to show.

Peter
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Micrsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2010, 05:26:30 PM »

Just  a thought......instead of updating and installing via the Microsoft site, try downloading and saving the updates to your desktop. Then switch off your anti-virus and/or anti-malware resident protections and then try to install from the desktop.

These net.framework things are installed well into the root of the OS and your security progs. may well be suspicious of them and putting in a block.

If that works, don't forget to reactivate the security progs.
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Microsoft .Net 3.5
« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2010, 05:52:33 PM »

Just a shot in the dark, but will not hurt either way.

Go to Windows updates and  "check for updates" now disable any .net framework update that is above 3.x so that hopefully it will only allow anything below 3. to update, then re-boot the PC.

You could also try this but first remove any .net framework 3.x that may already be installed.
(Just in case there is any conflict with parts already installed)

Now try the updates again, but this time allow 3.x

***************

edit

You could also try a "System Restore" prior to the date of the ?
(Although I never have much faith in System Restore, it's still worth trying)
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 05:56:16 PM by oldfogy »
Logged
 

anything