Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites  (Read 8962 times)

geep

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 452
    • My ST546 Statistics
Re: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites
« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2010, 01:28:21 PM »

If it's the 2-Wire BT2700HGV Router MTU can be set here: http://home/xslt?PAGE=B05&THISPAGE=B04&NEXTPAGE=B05

If you're game for a small challenge, you could try eliminating the Microsoft from the equation by running Linux off a live CD.
There are lots to choose from.

I've used Puppy Linux and it was fairly simple to configure either wired or wireless connections.
http://puppylinux.org/main/index.php?file=Overview%20and%20Getting%20Started.htm
It's a 128Mbyte download of the .iso CD image.

Cheers, Peter
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4421
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites
« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2010, 02:10:22 PM »

If you are on a static ip address it could be that the ip address is banned, that's why I asked. Of course if you had the same ip address before you moved then that would discount that theory. The reason I am going down this path is that you could access sites when you used the proxy.
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

wehey

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites
« Reply #17 on: June 07, 2010, 02:19:44 PM »

If you are on a static ip address it could be that the ip address is banned, that's why I asked. Of course if you had the same ip address before you moved then that would discount that theory. The reason I am going down this path is that you could access sites when you used the proxy.

My IP address has changed since the move so this could be a possability :)
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4421
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites
« Reply #18 on: June 07, 2010, 02:31:07 PM »

To rule it out can you get BT to change it. If you explain the reasons they may be able to help.
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

wehey

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites
« Reply #19 on: June 08, 2010, 05:39:25 PM »

If it's the 2-Wire BT2700HGV Router MTU can be set here: http://home/xslt?PAGE=B05&THISPAGE=B04&NEXTPAGE=B05


Hi Peter, I cant seem to get this link to work :(
Logged

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites
« Reply #20 on: June 08, 2010, 06:06:02 PM »

Hi
nor can I >what is it ?
Regards Jeff
Logged
zen user

geep

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 452
    • My ST546 Statistics
Re: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites
« Reply #21 on: June 08, 2010, 09:30:12 PM »

For 2-Wire BT 2700HGV Business Hub (wireless router) then that's the URL for the setup page for MTU etc.
If the link doesn't work then it suggests that you don't have a 2700HGV.
The page looks like this - http://tinyurl.com/2u2qoqm - except that a BT supplied router shows BT not Qwest. :)
It's quite an interesting page as the links are live, so you can see all the standard user features.
Cheers, Peter
« Last Edit: June 08, 2010, 09:35:26 PM by geep »
Logged

wehey

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites
« Reply #22 on: June 09, 2010, 10:34:52 AM »

Just an update for you all.
Still waiting to hear from BT but yesterday a neighbours unsecured network became visible to me. The sign was weak but I managed to connect to it and was instantly able to browse all the secure websites that I cannot currently browse through BT
Logged

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: Help!! Cant Connect To Secure Sites
« Reply #23 on: June 09, 2010, 05:44:48 PM »

Hi
Really its a no no to use your neighbours unsecured wireless link ,unless you have permission. Warning him that his wireless link is not secure may be neighbourly ;D
Regards Jeff
Logged
zen user
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything