Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: 21CN and DLM  (Read 6342 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39431
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
21CN and DLM
« on: May 18, 2010, 07:28:16 AM »

I've got involved in a discussion on the Zen forum, concerning the way in which DLM works with 21CN. Another member has stated that the BT Automatic Line Management System (ALMS) can increase the bRAS profile without the router having to reconnect at a higher speed. In fact he's stated (very firmly) that rebooting the router to get a higher connection speed is a very bad idea, and one should just leave it to ALMS to sort things out.

Before I make an idiot of myself by arguing about something I'm not really sure about, can anyone else throw some light on this subject?
Logged
  Eric

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2769
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 08:14:53 AM »

Hi Eric,

Whether or not it is a good or bad idea ALMS MUST be able to cope with disconnections effectively as there are many reasons for a router to re-boot e.g. Power cuts, BT Openreach work, user's misunderstandings etc. etc.

Kind regards,
Walter
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39431
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2010, 09:30:53 AM »

Yes Walter, there's no denying that.
Logged
  Eric

orainsear

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 635
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2010, 07:54:46 PM »

Another member has stated that the BT Automatic Line Management System (ALMS) can increase the bRAS profile without the router having to reconnect at a higher speed.

Could they be thinking of Seamless Rate Adaptation?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39431
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2010, 10:42:06 PM »

Could they be thinking of Seamless Rate Adaptation?

That was what I thought at first, but reading the postings on the Zen forum that doesn't seem to be the case. The poster I referred to says that ALMS directly controls the connection speed as well as the IP profile, and another poster has said that his experience backs this up. I've searched in vain for any official description of how DLM works with 21CN, and the only reference I come up with is the discussion on the Zen forum. I wish I could get an authoritative statement from someone who really knows.
Logged
  Eric

orainsear

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 635
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2010, 09:09:38 AM »

Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39431
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2010, 09:34:32 AM »

That's interesting, thanks orainsear.
Logged
  Eric

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2769
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2010, 10:48:04 AM »

@ Eric et al,

Does anybody know if similar information is published by other LLU providers.

(Yet another subject for Kitz's splendid site !)

Kind regards,
Walter
Logged

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2769
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2010, 02:46:02 PM »

Hi Zoe,

Could I suggest you relax a bit !
These differences are minute and probably have no effect on your actual throughput speeds.

Assuming the CarPhoneWarehouse DLM operates in a similar way to BT's DLM it is unwise to reboot too often in any case.

It would also help us keep track of your adventures if you stick to your original thread.

Kind reagrds,
Walter
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2010, 03:04:35 PM »

Zoe, I have moved your two posts from here and put them with the rest of your "problem" in the ADSL Issues part of the forum under your original AOL New Contract heading.

This thread is more to do with a general discussion on a particular technology, rather than individual problems arising therefrom.

Hope you don't mind.  :)
Logged

Zoe

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 241
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2010, 01:07:09 PM »

Hi  :)

Not sure if this relevant to the Topic: http://tinyurl.com/49k4zu So do feel free to remove it if it's not.

It's about how Sky Dynamic Line Management works  :-\
Not sure if Sky runs of BTW or LLU.
But I do know that some LLU ISP's are now using DLM.

Zoe
Logged
Talk Talk - Faster Fibre: 38/10
Estimated Download Speed 39Mbps to 40Mbps.
Minimum Guaranteed Speed 35Mbps
Actual Sync Speed 31Mbps Down & 8Mbps Up
Modem/Router: Netgear D6400

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39431
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2010, 02:53:54 PM »

Thanks Zoe. It doesn't deal with the particular question I asked, but it still makes interesting reading. :)
Logged
  Eric

Azzaka

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • SysAdmin
    • A Designers Work in Progress
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2010, 12:58:05 PM »

Too answer some questions...

The ALMS will perform similarly to SRA. However its not SRA. The banded profiles can be enabled at anytime and if the modem can cope, the line will adjust without a reset.

This gives the look and feel of SRA however allows the system to act more as an AI rather than adjusting to any issue/s that arises. Easiest wasy to explain is to say that the  ALMS will learn from the lines profiles and noise levels and for lack of a better way to describe it, it will learn from its mistakes. The ALMS will adjust the profiles and the SNR targets down to 3db and upt 15db to gain the best possible speed. It can then add a profile of say 4-6mb effectively capping the line and allowing it to move between the 2 but not above nor below by more than a meg.

The system is still new and as far as I am aware BT are looking into implementing SRA alongside of this, however they are working on other systems to allow them to interface properly.

Hope this helps.
Logged
I Sync', I Auth', therefore I am.
Online

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39431
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2010, 04:40:18 PM »

Thanks Leo, that's very interesting.
Logged
  Eric

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4028
Re: 21CN and DLM
« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2010, 07:57:03 PM »

Thanks Leo, I'm fascinated.

However, this may (almost certainly) be due to ignorance on my part but...
if the modem can cope, the line will adjust without a reset.
How can the line be adjusted, without a reset, other than by SRA?

And regardless of the 'how', if we accept that it 'can', doesn't it render obsolete the concept of a 'target margin', since the target margin is simply the margin immediately after a reconnect, and there will be no reconnect?

- 7LM
Logged
Pages: [1] 2