Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: UK only ?  (Read 5423 times)

SinBin

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
UK only ?
« on: May 07, 2010, 04:30:05 PM »

Help, I'm confused  :shrug2:. I always use Google to search but in the last week it only goes to the Google UK site - even if I type Google.Com in the address bar. I prefer the option of having Google.Com and selecting USA or UK but can no longer do this. It's the same for all browsers and not just Opera as I first suspected. Can someone please help ?
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4421
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 04:34:28 PM »

Just tried it Sinbin and like yourself it goes to .co.uk in Opera.  :o
and so does FF.
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

SinBin

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2010, 04:46:04 PM »

Thanks silversurfer44 - it's very strange isn't it ? Maybe we're on the same ISP ? I mean I know YouTube wont let you play some videos relating to your geographical location but I don't like this with Google  :(.
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2010, 04:48:45 PM »

On your Google.co.uk page, wiggle the mouse a bit to reveal the hidden menus, then look at the options shown in a line under the Google search bar....the right hand option is "Go to Google.Com"

Once there, you can if you wish set that as your home page...tools>preferences>general>home page ( in Opera ...no doubt other browsers will have a similar option. )
« Last Edit: May 07, 2010, 04:54:10 PM by tuftedduck »
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4421
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2010, 05:17:33 PM »

Thank you for that TD. I have my home page set for something else but it's nice to know you can select the .com page.
I'll give it a go in FF soon.
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

SinBin

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2010, 05:40:24 PM »

Thanks tuftedduck but what has happened to the Google.Com page which had the options to select 'UK only' pages ? If you see what I mean ? I don't mean the one as it is now which says 'go to Google uk' or google.Com but the 'older' version. The one where you are on the results page for whatever you have searched for and asks to select UK only ? I hope this makes sense - sorry.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2010, 05:43:20 PM by SinBin »
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4421
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2010, 05:43:13 PM »

Ah! do you mean the option that used to appear on the search results page?
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

SinBin

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2010, 05:44:22 PM »

You're post answered my question after I did the edit. Yes, that is exactly what I mean.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2010, 05:48:22 PM by SinBin »
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4421
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2010, 05:55:39 PM »

I know what you mean now but I don't have the answer, sorry. :(
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

SinBin

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2010, 06:00:48 PM »

Thanks very much though silversurfer44  :). Maybe it's Google who have changed ?
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2010, 06:09:59 PM »

Hi SinBin,

I'm using Opera and when I type something into the Google search box on the address bar it takes me to Google,which I presume is .com.

If you look at the image it says The web,if you just want UK sites then you click on.>Pages from the UK

Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4421
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2010, 06:40:07 PM »

This may be differences between Versions. I am running the Linux version and does not show that page at all.
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.

SinBin

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2010, 06:42:36 PM »

Hello UncleUB. Yes, that's it ! Only I believe it is Google.co.uk which offers the options to got to UK pages. If you search with Google.co.uk it opens the results for 'the web' and then you get the option to select 'pages from the UK'. However, if you search using Google.com you don't get the option. I hope I got this right ?

Hi silversurfer44 - I don't have linux so can't check  :(.
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2010, 06:43:49 PM »

Hi SS44

That image is shown down the left hand side of the Goolge page.

I wonder if this has any bearing on it

http://gmailblog.blogspot.com/2010/05/google-mail-is-becoming-gmail-in-uk.html
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: UK only ?
« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2010, 07:09:51 PM »

Aha, I see it now...........as said by unkyUb, the option appears after you post in a search and the search opens and the options are listed down the left hand side.

Never noticed that before.. :blush:
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything