Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: home network  (Read 7095 times)

arch

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
home network
« on: April 17, 2010, 11:42:58 PM »

Hi all, my first post :)

 I've just set up a Netgear DG834 Modem/Router on a Desktop running Win XP Home with Internet connection.
 I have another desktop ( old Compaq Deskpro ) running Win 98SE, it is not connected to the internet.

  I've had several attempts at trying to get both computers to see each other.

  The Win XP has free Z/A, Win 98SE hasn't any.

  If someone could help with a description of what I need to do I'd be most grateful.

  Thanks in advance :)
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: home network
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2010, 10:12:39 AM »

Welcome to Kitz place.

It should be quite easy.

Make all computers have the same Workgroup name. (You don't have to do all this but it is what I do)

Turn off all firewalls while setting it up.

Make sure the TCP/IP protocols are set to auto. (I set them manual with static IP's)
Make sure all computers are on the same IP range: 192.168.0.XXX

Make sure network cable is pluged in well. (Are you using the right cable? not crossover)


I think with Win98 you have to install another protocol.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2010, 10:43:22 AM by BritBrat »
Logged

arch

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: home network
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2010, 12:38:02 PM »

Hi Brit Brat,thanks :)

Both computers are in the same workgroup.

Win 98se hasn't a firewall installed.

Win xp has Z/A but I haven't turned it off.

What I've just done is ping each computer's name to see if they are seeing each other.

Win xp received back from the win98se machine:

Pinging 98se [192.168.0.3] with 32 bytes of data

packets: sent = 4, received = 4, lost = 0, < 0% loss >

Win 98se received back from the win xp machine:

Pinging xp [ 192.168.0.2] with 32 bytes of data

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

packets: sent = 4, received = 0, lost = 4, < 100% loss >

  Hope this is useful, thanks for your assistance :)

I've installed an ethernet card in both computers and the link is with an RJ45 cable.

 
« Last Edit: April 18, 2010, 12:44:24 PM by arch »
Logged

arch

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: home network
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2010, 04:55:04 PM »

Since my last reply I opened Z/A and added the IP address of Win 98se computer and voila ping data is now transferring from both PC's.

  However, all is not right yet, as only the Win XP computer has access to the other computer. Win 98se is'' Unable to browse the network''

  Can anyone shed light on this :(

  Thanks in advance
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: home network
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2010, 06:43:16 PM »


I've installed an ethernet card in both computers and the link is with an RJ45 cable.

 

When you say link do you mean each computer to router or are you trying to access internet through another machine that is connected to router?

As for accesing folders and files you will need to set up simple file sharing and give access permisions, but first I would get the 98SE internet access.

In the Zone alarm setting you may have to give it the full range (192.168.0.2 - 192.168.0.255) as the IP may changed on reboot, that is why I use static IP's.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2010, 06:51:24 PM by BritBrat »
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: home network
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2010, 11:48:20 PM »

As for accesing folders and files you will need to set up simple file sharing
Yes, just "Right click" the drive/s or folder/s you want to share, then from the drop-down menu select the Sharing option.
Logged

arch

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: home network
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2010, 07:55:05 PM »

Each computer is connected to the Router with RJ45.

I can access win 98SE files from XP but not vice-versa.

The 98SE computer is asking for a domain to be typed in as well as password for networking.

Password can be any, domain is confusing me :-\
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: home network
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2010, 10:42:47 PM »

As for accesing folders and files you will need to set up simple file sharing
Yes, just "Right click" the drive/s or folder/s you want to share, then from the drop-down menu select the Sharing option.

What he said.

You could add a new user to the XP machine with a password and us ethat to login to XP from the 98 machine.

I thought you were trying to get internet access for 98 machine?
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: home network
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2010, 11:43:55 PM »

I can access win 98SE files from XP but not vice-versa.

The 98SE computer is asking for a domain to be typed in as well as password for networking.

Password can be any, domain is confusing me :-\
Did you run the Network Setup wizard on both PC's?

When you run the "Network setup wizard" from XP, one of the last things it asks is if you want to make a disc of the settings, you should chose yes, then insert the disc into the Windows 98SE PC and then run the wizard again from the disc.

When setting the File Sharing option, I would suggest to start with you do not chose a password, this can be set later if you want to.
Logged

arch

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: home network
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2010, 08:32:50 AM »

To BritBrat

By adding a new user to XP as you suggest, what would I have to do in 98 to be able to access this. Yes I am trying to gain access to Internet from 98SE, sorry for confusion :)

To Oldfogy

  I used the Wizard for XP and made a Floppy of Net Setup and used that in the 98 machine earlier, before I posted on here but couldn't get anywhere.
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: home network
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2010, 01:40:07 PM »

I think you should do one thing at a time or you will get confused.

That is the way I would do it.
Logged

arch

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: home network
« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2010, 06:39:04 PM »

Well both computers are now seeing each other and I have successfully transfered files from 98SE to XP and vice-versa :) Thanks for your assistance.

 Although I will only be using 98SE for storage, it would be interesting to see if I can get online through XP's internet connection.

  Any help here appreciated, thanks in advance.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39678
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: home network
« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2010, 06:47:15 PM »

Quote
it would be interesting to see if I can get online through XP's internet connection.

It isn't XP's internet connection, it's the router's internet connection. By connecting your Win98 PC to the router you should have an internet connection immediately, and the XP machine doesn't need to be running.
Logged
  Eric

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2468
Re: home network
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2010, 10:23:27 PM »

The problem with using the router directly is that W98 is inherently insecure.
I wouldn't give it more than a few hours before it was compromised.
Going via the XP machine (which is possible, just using the router as a hub/switch) may be safer.
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: home network
« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2010, 08:38:16 AM »

You said you had the 98SE connected to router with a cable!

It is a lot harder to connect through another (XP) machine but it can be done.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2