Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]

Author Topic: Opera Browser  (Read 22558 times)

jazz

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 390
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #90 on: March 26, 2010, 09:22:43 AM »

If you do the update from within Opera (ie by clicking 'Help' then 'Check for Updates') then you will automatically get an update and not a clean install.  Everything that you had in v10.10 is seamlessly carried forward to v10.5.1.  Good luck!  :)
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #91 on: March 26, 2010, 11:16:50 AM »

Done and dusted..... :thumbs:


Quote
The menu bar is disabled by default.....to get it back if you want it, hit the Alt. key........that gives the menu bar and the option to show it fulltime if you wish.

It wasn't for me. ???

When I click on >File,the show menu bar box is ticked.

Edit,just to say very quick at loading pages and using a nice glass skin  ;)

Edit....that nice glass skin doesn't display PDF pages properly,the pages are very pale and virtually unable to read......Other skins are fine,it just seems to be the ones that are glass orientated

Example Z1-Glass v 2.39 skin.



« Last Edit: March 26, 2010, 02:28:10 PM by UncleUB »
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #92 on: March 27, 2010, 11:37:27 AM »

Quote
Much fiddling and testing and rafts of help and advice from the kind Kitizens have convinced me that my intermittent connection problems were not connected to Opera but to some other external force ( and I think I know what it is but am not tempting fate by naming it...just yet )

Are you any nearer to solving your problem TD ?
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #93 on: March 27, 2010, 05:16:36 PM »

 :fingers:  , unkyUb, but not tempting fate by saying too much in case it hears me.. ;D

No problems for three days now...it's a record.. :thumbs:
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #94 on: March 27, 2010, 06:07:29 PM »

 :thumbs: :fingers:

Re Opera...I have been frequenting the Opera Forums the last few days...They are certainly an abrupt lot over there,if you post in the wrong section or ask the wrong question... :scare:

My own transition to Opera 10.51 from 10.10 was very smooth apart from a few glitches with various skins,but some of the problems people are/have posted..tbh I didn't think there could be that much go wrong in a browser. :o
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #95 on: April 02, 2010, 02:51:59 PM »

This is a strange one....

When I visit the Computer Active forums http://forums.computeractive.co.uk/ The site opens ok,but when I try to click on a link to a thread nothing happens.
Then when I go to open another site site from one of my bookmarks it takes me to the C/A forum thread I was trying to click on?
This only happens using Opera..Firefox is fine.

I have tried using the masquerade as firefox thingy buts its still the same..

Just to add,this doesn't happen all the time,yesterday it was fine.This is the only site where it happens.

Edit,well I'll be dammed its ok at present,but this is not the first time its happened...
« Last Edit: April 02, 2010, 02:54:53 PM by UncleUB »
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #96 on: April 02, 2010, 03:01:29 PM »

I have had similar on both CA and V3.......the page freezes and then when you go to another bookmark or to your home page, it opens up at the link you originally wanted.

I don't think it is an Opera problem, rather a glitch in the CA/V3 javascript as I can get round the problem by right click>edit site preferences>scripting and disabling javascript.

It does seem to be patchy......sometimes the links work and sometimes not.
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #97 on: April 02, 2010, 03:06:59 PM »

That's exactly the problem TD.

I will make a note of your work around for future reference. ;)


Quote
It does seem to be patchy......sometimes the links work and sometimes not.


Just the same for me.

Thanks for taking the time to reply to my query.  :)
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #98 on: April 14, 2010, 11:15:13 AM »

I have noticed on some websites that the last element sometimes never loads in...ie,it will stick at 193/194 elements.

Is there a fix to sort it out.?

When I click on..tools>preferences>advanced>history....I have..Memory cache set to auto.Disc cache set at 20mb,and the the 'empty on exit' box ticked.
Logged

silversurfer44

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4421
  • Lord Muck
    • Ben Novice Weather
Re: Opera Browser
« Reply #99 on: April 14, 2010, 11:48:04 AM »

It may be you browser settings are preventing a script from completing. Mine does this as well on some sites. Not a bad thing in itself and as long as the page is loaded I wouldn't worry about it.
Logged
Colin II : It's no good being a pessimist, it wouldn't work anyway.
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]