Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: TalkTalk Opinion Sought?  (Read 8348 times)

sparky

TalkTalk Opinion Sought?
« on: February 10, 2010, 02:06:38 PM »

Hi guys,

I know that the title of this post is likely to result in a big flame, but please bear with me and understand my problem.

I have had intermittent phone line problems for six months, since BT "fixed", supposedly at the exchange, a hard problem on my line last August. I've gone through all the usual channels and done all the usual things, which is quite easy as I have a 1980's style master socket with just the one phone jack. So I've tried different routers and splitters plugged in directly, etc etc. But when I get a crackly line I can plug nothing other than a wired BT phone directly into the master socket and I still get the crackling. BUT it's intermittent. Very bad some evenings and mornings, non existant at other times. I've tried switching everything off in the house as well. BT say there is nothing wrong with my line when they test it (i wonder how flippin good these tests that they run really are because they dont show a fault even when its crackling) and will only send an engineer out if I agree to pay them. No deal. My IP profile is currently set at 500kbps but has been as low as 135kbps. My connection (not IP Profile) today is 3616, but that will only stay until the router re-synchs and it will drop tonight. It will resynch as soon as the phone rings this evening. Prior to this problem starting I had a solid connection of 4640kbps and an ip profile of 4000 kbps.