Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]

Author Topic: BT Option 1 Slow Speed  (Read 16476 times)

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #60 on: September 19, 2007, 04:20:46 PM »

Here's hoping then! :congrats:
Logged
  Eric

soms

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 537
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #61 on: September 19, 2007, 05:34:54 PM »

Quote
Hi,just phoned Bt broadband faults who after much waffling on  ran a check on my line and tell me I have a fault and it has been passed on to the engineers.I live in hope.

I get the feeling this has become part of the script... I was told there was a line fault when all I wanted was the IP profile unstuck. Give it a day or two and you will have a phone call from them saying that they couldn't identify the fault that "you" reported.

There is always a chance that there is a real fault though.
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #62 on: September 19, 2007, 06:06:20 PM »

Cheers guys,I'II Keep you posted.
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #63 on: September 20, 2007, 09:56:39 AM »

Hi guys,just done a re boot of the router 1856kbps downstream/448 upstream,it just hope my line will be able to maintain this.the other stats are noise margin 14.4 down/10.0 up line att 15.5 down?(theres something wrong there as its usually 63.0) 31.5 up.Output power 17.3 down/12.4 up.will just have to see what happens,last time it synched at 1856 it could not maintain it.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #64 on: September 20, 2007, 10:45:09 AM »

>> line att 15.5 down?(theres something wrong there as its usually 63.0)

Maybe BT have installed your own personal fibre connection, but somehow I doubt it. ;D
Just a bit of router madness.
Logged
  Eric

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #65 on: September 20, 2007, 06:13:55 PM »

Hi,If I continue to sync @ 1856Kbps what IP profile should I get.Since my re-boot 8 hours ago my IP profile is 750Kb (is this one of the new btw profiles?)
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #66 on: September 20, 2007, 06:53:27 PM »

You should get an IP profile of 1500 in a short while. There's a table of sync speeds and IP profiles at http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/maxdsl2.htm (scroll to the bottom of the page).
Logged
  Eric

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #67 on: September 21, 2007, 11:33:30 AM »

Hi Roseway,you were right.Just run Bt speedtester, IP profile 1500kb,1856 downstream,448 upstream,actual speed achieved during the test 1370kbps.This is the best speed I have ever had.Fingers crossed It will maintain it :-\.BT faults phoned to say the engineer had done something in the exchange and the fault is sorted.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 01:26:18 PM by UncleUB »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #68 on: September 21, 2007, 12:46:02 PM »

Could be a result then. Here's hoping. :thumbs:
Logged
  Eric

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #69 on: September 22, 2007, 02:46:51 PM »

Hi, just done a speedtest with speedtest.net and noticed my IP address is different since my fault was sorted and my speed increased.Old IP address 86.155.34.8,now 86.156.13.246.Why has this changed.Is it something to do with the exchange.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #70 on: September 22, 2007, 03:55:37 PM »

No, the IP address is assigned by the ISP. Some ISPs fix the address for each subscriber, and some just give you a number from a pool. The fact that it's changed is unimportant (unless you're running an internet server).
Logged
  Eric

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Option 1 Slow Speed
« Reply #71 on: September 22, 2007, 04:01:58 PM »

Thanks eric,just wondered what was going on.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]
 

anything