Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: IPStream Max Profiles  (Read 6676 times)

Tirion

IPStream Max Profiles
« on: November 17, 2009, 11:55:45 AM »

So, I'm sat here reading through BT's IPStream Max Handbook (because I'm a geek), and I'm struggling to understand why the max IP profile is 7150Kbps for an 8128Kbps sync speed. Just checked my own line on BTW, and sure enough it's in sync at 8128Kbps and on the 7150Kbps profile.

Does anyone know the reason/technicalities as to why BTW don't have any profiles over 7150Kbps?

It's baffling me ;)

UncleUB

• Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
Re: IPStream Max Profiles
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2009, 12:02:45 PM »

It's baffling me

I'm a broadband/network engineer for a UK LLU provider

Not much hope for me then. :lol:

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2009, 12:40:03 PM »

The connection speed is the raw data speed capability. The IP profile is a net figure, after allowing for TCP/IP and ATM and other overheads. Read more about it here.

Eric

Tirion

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2009, 01:16:46 PM »

The connection speed is the raw data speed capability. The IP profile is a net figure, after allowing for TCP/IP and ATM and other overheads. Read more about it here.

I think you possibly misread my question there ;)

What I'm asking, is why is the maximum profile only 7150Kbps, a full 978K lower than the sync speed?

Are you saying that the 7150Kbps figure is reserved for payload only, and the TCP overheads have 'additional' bandwidth available?

Forgive me if I'm being dim, it wouldn't be the first time :-[

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2009, 04:20:58 PM »