Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Anyone Used 'Joomla'  (Read 7726 times)

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3566
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Anyone Used 'Joomla'
« on: October 19, 2009, 12:17:08 AM »

I'm tying to make head or tails out of this software ??? to see if its any good when I create my website., anyone used it ?

http://www.joomla.org/about-joomla.html
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse Business isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3)line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) Trunk Networks Business isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN  .

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32996
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Anyone Used 'Joomla'
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2009, 02:13:39 AM »

Although Ive never used it myself.. (I use my own template system)..   joomla is one of the better and most well known content management systems.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32996
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Anyone Used 'Joomla'
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2009, 02:16:50 AM »

Should mention that you need php & mysql to use joomla.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

pintosal

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
Re: Anyone Used 'Joomla'
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2009, 12:25:48 PM »

Yes, I am using it, and it's a fine product.

I'm with Zen and it's one of their pre-installed offerings.
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3566
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Re: Anyone Used 'Joomla'
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2009, 08:10:09 PM »

I'm playing about with a free server download (I will put that in another post soon  ;) ) and it's on there,
as far as I can tell PHP, MySQL, Apache are on there.
When I point a browser to the server I get joomla main page, I can log on, then I can open up something that looks a bit like this screen where we type to do these posts on 'Kitz' forum.
Is that what you use to make your web pages for a web site ?.
Or am I missing something. ?.
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse Business isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3)line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) Trunk Networks Business isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN  .

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32996
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Anyone Used 'Joomla'
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2009, 08:45:56 PM »

Joomla is a content management system for webpages.

The idea is that you have a template, then you add/type in the content, which then gives your site a uniform look throughout.
Theres lots of free joomla templates available on the net.


You may find the following joomla tutorials helpful
http://www.siteground.com/tutorials/joomla/index.htm


Good luck :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3566
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Re: Anyone Used 'Joomla'
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2009, 12:31:36 AM »

Thanks for the useful link. :)
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse Business isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3)line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) Trunk Networks Business isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN  .
 

anything