Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Packet loss on 10.126.64.1  (Read 3932 times)

tenpug

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Packet loss on 10.126.64.1
« on: September 20, 2009, 01:09:55 AM »

 Just a quick question.

I have recently been getting seriously fluctuating speeds on my Virgin 20Mb line and I suspect somebody may be leeching my connection.

To try and establish where the connection is having problems I have carried out a pathping to google.com and am getting massive packet loss on the IP address 10.126.64.1 (in the region of 70-90% loss).

However I can't seem to find any details on what this address relates to as I need to know whether it is within my home network or on the Virgin side. It appears on around hop 2 or 3 but none of my devices (at least that I can detect) are showing with this address allocated.

Any help regarding this would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32401
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Packet loss on 10.126.64.1
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2009, 02:26:44 AM »

10.126.64.1 is an IP allocated to a private network, so it could either be your own or part of the Virgin Network.

If its on the 3rd hop then its most likely to be part of Virgins, but its difficult to say without actually seeing a tracert from your side.

The other thing is it just that hop where you are seeing the packet loss and is it impacting future hops further on down the line.?
If its just that hop, it could be one of Virgins routers just not set to prioritise pings, which can be quite common. **
....or if it continues all the way it could be part of your local cable network which is suffering from congestion... which sounds like what is happening.  This can often occur if you have a "few heavy users" living local to you... and this will also affect your speeds.

Ive tried doing a tracert to you from this side but as your router isnt responding to pings its not shown anything conclusive.



----------------------------

** For example this trace of my own shows 'packet loss' at hop1 - which I know is my router not prioritising packets.

Code: [Select]

C:\Program Files\Support Tools>tracert google.co.uk

Tracing route to google.co.uk [209.85.229.104]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    61 ms    99 ms    99 ms  Router [192.168.1.254]
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3     *        *       18 ms  10.1.2.1
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5    14 ms    14 ms    46 ms  87-194-0-206.bethere.co.uk [87.194.0.206]
  6    14 ms    14 ms    14 ms  64.233.175.25
  7    95 ms    88 ms    22 ms  72.14.232.134
  8    20 ms    20 ms    19 ms  216.239.49.45
  9    27 ms    20 ms    33 ms  209.85.243.81
 10    20 ms    20 ms    19 ms  ww-in-f104.google.com [209.85.229.104]

Trace complete.

Hop 2 is where I join my ISPs network at the exchange - it never responds to pings
Hop 3 is the regional router for my ISP - it doesnt respond but at one point it did.  Its interesting to note that it responded at 18ms..  but if you look further down you see that hop 6 is still responding in 14ms, so its obvious that  hops 3 & 5 are just deprioritising pings rather than it being actual packet loss.

An interesting test to complete is also at visual ware and then compare to a trace from your own network.

eg

Code: [Select]
C:\Program Files\Support Tools>tracert 205.177.182.160

Tracing route to dtg376.defenderhosting.com [205.177.182.160]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    20 ms    99 ms    99 ms  Router [192.168.1.254]
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3    15 ms    15 ms    17 ms  10.1.2.1
  4    14 ms    13 ms    13 ms  cr02.ldn01.pccwbtn.net [195.66.224.167]
  5    14 ms    13 ms    13 ms  dtg376.defenderhosting.com [205.177.182.160]

Trace complete.

compare with screenshot attached below:-
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

tenpug

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Packet loss on 10.126.64.1
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2009, 03:17:29 AM »

Thanks for the info.

I have included a screengrab of a trace route which I hope will shed some light on the situation.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32401
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Packet loss on 10.126.64.1
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2009, 03:26:11 AM »

From that screenie, it looks like 10.126.64.1 is your router.

When you get packet loss at that hop does it follow through all the way down, or is it just at that hop?

Is the router wireless - and is it secured?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

tenpug

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Packet loss on 10.126.64.1
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2009, 03:42:58 AM »

The last pathping I did showed only loss on the 10.126.64.1 hop (43%).

Just to clarify I have the Virgin modem connected through a Linksys R32P2 router which is wired only. I have tested it through the modem only and I get similar results.

The modem is the newest one they supply so the only thing I can think of if it is my setup here is that the modem is misconfigured. Otherwise I reckon it must be something on their network, especially since the problems only started after my upgrade to 20Mb.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32401
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Packet loss on 10.126.64.1
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2009, 04:28:05 AM »

Quote
>> When you get packet loss at that hop does it follow through all the way down, or is it just at that hop?

The last pathping I did showed only loss on the 10.126.64.1 hop (43%).

Your last tracert shows that all is fine.
Is it only pathping where you are seeing this?

I cant do a full pathping as it always fails due to my ISP router not being responsive to pings.. and even if I do it on the network it tells me Im getting 100% packet loss from router to local PC.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

tenpug

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Packet loss on 10.126.64.1
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2009, 04:36:05 AM »

Again, many thanks for the help.

I'll need to take it up with Virgin again if it looks as though everything on my end is OK.
Logged
 

anything