Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Netgear DGN2000 Query  (Read 22853 times)

Hamster

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Netgear DGN2000 Query
« on: September 05, 2009, 11:17:47 AM »

Hi All

First post here  :)

I have a Netgear DGN2000 which i'm very pleased with. I know it shows uptime in the user interface but is there a way i can view connected to the ADSL time, also would an ADSL re-sync be shoewn in the router log.

Thanks

Hamster
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2009, 03:18:05 PM »

Hi and welcome,

Unfortunately Netgear routers don't provide a clear figure for ADSL uptime in the web interface, and I don't think re-sync events are recorded in the log. There's a wealth of information available from the telnet interface, but no published document describing what the commands do. :( I'll have a poke around (I use a DG834GT which is very similar) and see if I can find it.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32216
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2009, 03:41:54 PM »

I dont have one of these router to check..  but it should be similar to the DG834GT as it uses a similar chipset.

As mentioned by eric you should be able to get more info by enabling debug mode

http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug

and then telnetting into the CLI
telnet://192.168.0.1


I also dont have a DG834GT hooked up right now to check..   but some of the telnet command to perhaps try are

adsl info --show
adsl info --state
adsl info --stats
adsl adslstatus


Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2009, 03:51:51 PM »

Quote
adsl info --show
adsl info --state
adsl info --stats
adsl adslstatus

With more recent firmware versions, the commands are:

adslctl info --show
                    --state
                    --stats

and the command 'adsl adslstatus' has been removed.

The command 'adslctl info --stats' gives a figure for 'Total time' but it's not clear whether this is the ADSL uptime or something else. Also, on my router (which uses the DGTeam firmware) the figure isn't accurate anyway because it never goes over 2 days (it just rolls back to 1 day again).
Logged
  Eric

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4403
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2009, 05:22:32 PM »

Also, on my router (which uses the DGTeam firmware) the figure isn't accurate anyway because it never goes over 2 days (it just rolls back to 1 day again).

Same with standard firmware (1.2.16).  'total time' never admits to being more than 1 day and whatever hours/minutes.

I recently installed routerstats though (do I hear a chorus of 'about time'?), :thumbs:

... and routerstats does give a figure for LAN and WAN uptime, both of which look entirely believable.  It's on the 'telnet router' - 'summary' page.
Logged

orainsear

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 635
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2009, 05:36:59 PM »

I think routerstats calculates elapsed time from the SF (superframe) count, and 1 SF has a period of 17 ms
Logged

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2009, 06:06:58 PM »

Hi

quote I think routerstats calculates elapsed time from the SF (superframe) count, and 1 SF has a period of 17 ms

That is correct . so you can have Lan uptime ,wan uptime (from sf frames ) and PPPoa  uptime .

Regards Jeff
Logged
zen user

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2009, 06:39:19 PM »

But what you don't have is ADSL uptime. WAN uptime is the same thing as PPP uptime, and LAN uptime is basically the time since the router was last rebooted.
Logged
  Eric

orainsear

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 635
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2009, 07:02:03 PM »

For the DGN2000, beside the 'show statistics' button there's a 'connection status' button which brings up:



According the the manual 'connection time' is 'the time elapsed since the last connection to the Internet through the ADSL port.'
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 07:04:45 PM by orainsear »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39516
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2009, 07:13:08 PM »

I'm afraid that 'Connection time' and 'WAN uptime' are effectively the same thing. See the attached screenshots from my DG834GT, taken just a few seconds apart. I had some PPP disconnections this afternoon, but my ADSL connection has been up for several days.
Logged
  Eric

orainsear

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 635
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2009, 07:22:38 PM »

I'm afraid that 'Connection time' and 'WAN uptime' are effectively the same thing.

I wasn't sure but had a suspicion that may be the case.  Seems a bit odd to provide the same data in two different ways though  ???

Edit: Do both counters reset if you disconnect and use the connect button?

 :D Edit 2: 7LM just answered my question  :)
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 07:27:33 PM by orainsear »
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4403
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2009, 07:23:10 PM »

But what you don't have is ADSL uptime. WAN uptime is the same thing as PPP uptime, and LAN uptime is basically the time since the router was last rebooted.

Eric,

I know routerstats calls it 'WAN uptime', but it says in brackets "from SF counts", so isn't it actually the time since last resynch?

Actually, I've just tried an experiment. In the 'connection status' GUI I clicked 'disconnect then 'reconnect'.  That resets the displayed 'connection time', but the routerstats 'WAN uptime' was unaffected.


PS:  I see I'm crossing posts with Eric, but I'll post anyway.

- 7LM
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4403
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2009, 07:45:18 PM »

:D Edit 2: 7LM just answered my question  :)

Yes, sorry about that.  I was aware I'd crossed with Erics post, but I didn't notice I'd crossed with yours too.  Else I'd have had the manners to comment on your question.  No offence intended :)
Logged

orainsear

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 635
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2009, 08:17:59 PM »

No offence taken at all  :)
Logged

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: Netgear DGN2000 Query
« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2009, 10:50:19 PM »

Hi

You can definitely have 3 different times

Lan  the total time the router has been on

Wan  PPPoa  connection to the ISP

Wan calculated from SF   > note  this time is reset when  SF counters reset for example when applying a tweak  or as I did when using config to switch Bits swap back on .Confirmed by change in synch speed/Target snr . etc   But The PPoA is still connected .
Total Uptimes (From SF counts):

             WAN:   3 days, 01:58:10       synch/ SNR  changed when I used config to switch BITswap back on
             LAN:   18 days, 07:00:00
                           
                                           Up Time          
            WAN            PPPoA            371:28:54    this did not reset         
            LAN            10M/100M       439:02:39          
               
and  all these get reset at the same time

SF:               15705327
SF Errors:        1
Reed Solomon:     1067962266
RS Corrected:     782
RS Un-Corrected:  1
HEC:              0

Regards Jeff

 
Logged
zen user
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

anything