Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Opera browser  (Read 8476 times)

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Opera browser
« on: September 01, 2009, 02:35:15 PM »

Have just upgraded from Opera 9.64 to the new Opera 10 build 1750.

Wow, this is fast...TD is going dizzy  ;D

Would recommend anyone to give a whirl  ;)
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1945
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2009, 03:45:05 PM »

Thought I would give it a try.

Personally, Firefox is quicker, especially with loading all the Smileys above the message box on the forum... :-\

Some sites though, lightning speed  ;)
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

BT FTTP - 75meg | Sky Q |  Bridgend Weather

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2009, 05:16:37 PM »

jid, did you try it with the Opera Turbo enabled ?
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1945
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2009, 05:32:44 PM »

No should I have?  :o
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

BT FTTP - 75meg | Sky Q |  Bridgend Weather

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2009, 06:27:46 PM »

Hi
Just having a play with it  :)
Regards Jeff
Logged
zen user

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2009, 06:55:10 PM »

No should I have?  :o

Give it a whirl, it certainly seems to speed up graphics intensive pages... :)
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1945
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2009, 08:02:26 PM »

Hmm yeh it makes them smaller so they don't take as long to load.

Some sites load up really fast with Turbo off mind! Dell website flies through...
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

BT FTTP - 75meg | Sky Q |  Bridgend Weather

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2009, 07:17:03 AM »

Hmm yeh it makes them smaller so they don't take as long to load.

Some sites load up really fast with Turbo off mind! Dell website flies through...

Yes, Turbo is a bit of a mixed bag and to be honest, I find that things zip along better with it turned off.......maybe that's just me not configuring it properly.

Still, Opera remains my browser of choice  :)
Logged

jazz

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 390
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2009, 09:20:53 AM »

Is there an equivalent on Opera of Adblock on Firefox?  I have Opera and use it sometimes but I use Firefox a lot because of its Adblock facility.....
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2009, 09:30:54 AM »

Is there an equivalent on Opera of Adblock on Firefox?  I have Opera and use it sometimes but I use Firefox a lot because of its Adblock facility.....

Yes...........Opera calls it Block Content, and it is built-in not a plug-in or add-on.

Open up a web page, right click on an empty part of that page and from the menu click on "block content".............any images will become "greyed out". Click on the offending item then go to the top left hand corner of the screen and click on "done".......ad gone never to return.  :)

If you block the wrong thing, or just want to see what has been blocked....tools>preferences>advanced>content>blocked content will list all that you have blocked and there is the option if you wish to cancel that blocking and reinstate the item.

edit to correct my spelling  :-[
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 09:39:18 AM by tuftedduck »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39678
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2009, 10:50:17 AM »

Egged on by TD :) I've given this a whirl. I didn't get on with the previous version because the fonts looked horrible on my Linux systems, and I couldn't find a way to improve them. But with version 10 the fonts are fine, so I'm going to persevere a bit. I may have some questions though... the first one being: I'd really like to have a bookmarks toolbar, but I can't see a way to display one. Is it possible?
Logged
  Eric

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2009, 11:07:28 AM »

No, there is no bookmarks toolbar, .........the nearest  is a bookmarks Panel.

View>toolbars>customise>panels .......check the "bookmarks" button.....decide where you want the panel to show and click ok out of that.

Or...use Opera Speed Dial as explained at http://help.opera.com/Windows/10.00/en/speeddial.html

 
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39678
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2009, 11:10:49 AM »

Thanks TD, Speed Dial looks interesting.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32550
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #13 on: September 03, 2009, 02:52:00 PM »

I used to use Opera as my primary browser for a short while, but went back to FF after running into a couple of hiccups.. like bank login problems etc. :(

Ive just upgraded mine to the latest version, and had a go at turbo mode.  Dont like it as the images become very poor and blocky - and some of them awful.   This sort of compression is primarily used to assist those on dial-up (eg OnSpeed).


Speed Dial

One of the things that I really did like about Opera was their SpeedDial which must be a couple of years old now?
Firefox has an equivalent plug in though which Ive been using for a few months - linky.  The only annoying thing about the FF plugin that Ive found is that after a FF update - it seems to forget about them and you have to reset it to your home page.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

scottiesmum

  • Guest
Re: Opera browser
« Reply #14 on: September 03, 2009, 03:01:33 PM »

Kitz,  I use Fast Dial as opposed to Speed Dial in Firefox and  I find it doesn't have the problem on update.   There was a hiccup when I upgraded to Firefox 3.5.2  with my then existing FD but I installed the Fast Dial 2.23b1 version and it works fine.   :)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

anything