Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.  (Read 5202 times)

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« on: September 02, 2009, 03:03:15 PM »

Hi

I do not seem to have any bitswapping going on . I use to have anything up to 100 swaps on some tones in about 10 hrs.I also use to have some periods with no bitswapping . Now I get none at all. Everything seems to work ok . My stats are all ok as normal . not losing synch or anything .Is it possible for bitswapping to have been switched off ?
Regards Jeff :-\
Logged
zen user

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39587
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2009, 03:12:16 PM »

It's a switchable option with the DGTeam firmware. I don't know if the official firmware includes it as an option in the web interface, but it can presumably be switched from the telnet interface.

[Edit] Try:

adslctl configure --bitswap on
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 03:17:42 PM by roseway »
Logged
  Eric

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2009, 05:53:39 PM »

Hi
@Eric : Thanks Eric I've given it a go .
Regards Jeff
Logged
zen user

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39587
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2009, 06:43:36 PM »

It'll be interesting to see if it makes a difference.
Logged
  Eric

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2009, 08:02:30 PM »

Hi
@Eric :   That's fixed it . Wonder how it was switched off?. I have never used telnet before . When I did this I kept everything crossed :fingers:

I thought that BITSWAP was required to prevent loss of synch .

Regards Jeff

Logged
zen user

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2009, 08:12:51 PM »

Hi

one side effect of using the telnet command was to reset some of the counters namely the WAN .
SF:               489345               *
SF Errors:        0
Reed Solomon:     33275490
RS Corrected:     25
RS Un-Corrected:  0
HEC:              0

WAN:   0 days, 02:19:17  (calculated from *)

But
LAN, PPPoA and
CRC:  35
LOS:  0
LOF:  0
ES :  31

Not changed
Regards Jeff

Edit lost about 1000Kbps  synch . wrong time to resynch  and of course lost the 3db tweak.

« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 08:28:26 PM by jeffbb »
Logged
zen user

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39587
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2009, 10:33:59 PM »

Quote
I thought that BITSWAP was required to prevent loss of synch .

It's not essential, but it helps to maintain sync as conditions change.

Quote
Edit lost about 1000Kbps  synch . wrong time to resynch  and of course lost the 3db tweak.

The command:

adslctl configure --snr n

where n is between 1 and 200, is the quick way to tweak the target noise margin.

100 is the default (i.e. no tweaking)
30 corresponds roughly with a 3 dB reduction
1 corresponds roughly with a 5.5 dB reduction

These values aren't saved, so a reboot or power down sets the value back to the default. The DGTeam firmware provides a means of adjusting this value in the web interface, and the change is saved.

[Edit] PS: sorry if I'm telling you what you already know :)
Logged
  Eric

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2009, 10:01:27 AM »

Hi

Thanks Eric all help gratefully received  :). I will use the tweak as soon as the Margin is right . My line is stable BUT I do have a mysterious 3db noise source that comes at various times for indeterminate Time  . So I will wait for the right opportunity to apply it.
Regards Jeff
Logged
zen user

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32405
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2009, 12:46:29 PM »

Weird that it manged to get switched off  ???
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2009, 05:52:53 PM »

Hi
Its even weirder now Its off again !! no bits swapping at all , Yet seems to make no difference to my stats .
Regards Jeff ???
Logged
zen user

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32405
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2009, 11:06:35 PM »

 ???
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39587
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2009, 07:32:38 AM »

If you haven't already turned it back on, it would be interesting to take a few screenshots of the bit loading graph in Routerstats, and compare them to see if they really are identical. Maybe bit swapping is still taking place but is not being reported correctly.
Logged
  Eric

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: no bit swapping. on dg834gt.
« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2009, 06:58:23 PM »

Hi
@Eric Yes I have taken a copy of the bis/tone   from the terminal and compared them on 3 occasions yesterday evening when the swaps are normally heaviest .no change at all . I am going to do the same again this evening.
Regards Jeff
Logged
zen user