Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: ADSL2+  (Read 5023 times)

adams901

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
ADSL2+
« on: August 12, 2009, 05:57:36 PM »

Hi guys,

I recently moved over to ADSL2+ (yesterday) and have a question relating to how it is supposed to work.

My IP Profile is showing as 4000 yet my actual download speed is 30kb/s,

   Your DSL connection rate: 4502 kbps(DOWN-STREAM),  824 kbps(UP-STREAM)
    IP profile for your line is - 4000 kbps

on normal ADSL I had a profile of 4500 and a download speed of about 443kb/s

I understand there is a 10 settling in period, but surely my actual download speed should relate to what my Profile is showing?

When I had the settling in period with normal ADSL my profile went up and down with the resyncs, but my download speed always related to what the profile was showing.

Also my ping response time has gone from 11ms to nearly 200ms, would interleaving have been enabled when I was switched over to ADSL2+?

Thanks for reading.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31911
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2009, 12:27:49 PM »

When you move over to adsl2+ your line will undergo a new training period so it is possible that interleaving may be set when it previously wasnt.

However..  200ms isnt just interleaving..  that would at most be expected to add 20-40ms.  Can you provide a tracert to the bbc please.

It may also be worthwhile (as long as you havent already) trying a reboot of the router to attempt to pick up another gateway.

30 KB/sec (240 kbps ?) is pretty awful  :'(  Have you tried the TBB speedtester.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adams901

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2009, 01:02:15 PM »

Hey Kitz,

Thanks for the reply.

I have tried 2 different routers, DG834GT and DSL2640B.

I opened  a ticket with my ISP and was told it was probally the 10 day traning period, however I am not convinced because my actual connection speed is showing as high while my download speed is now about 13kb/s.

 1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.0.1
 2     *      136 ms   130 ms  lo0.plusnet.thn-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.93]
 3   218 ms   162 ms   175 ms  vl604.thn-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.170]
 4   183 ms   176 ms   188 ms  rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.25]
 5   181 ms   196 ms   174 ms  212.58.238.149
 6   153 ms   144 ms   227 ms  virtual-vip.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138]

  1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.0.1
  2   172 ms   181 ms   183 ms  lo0.plusnet.thn-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.93]
  3     *      149 ms   165 ms  vl604.thn-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.170]
  4   236 ms   256 ms   248 ms  rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.25]
  5   245 ms   180 ms     *     212.58.238.149
  6   166 ms   176 ms   157 ms  virtual-vip.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138]





Just so everyone is clear, I am not complaining about the service im getting as it is a Trial and I did volunteer for it, prior to moving over to ADSL2+ my connection has been great. All I'm trying to do is get feedback on whether this is indeed a fault with either the exchange or something else. :)

Regards
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31911
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2009, 01:32:52 PM »

>> lo0.plusnet.thn-ag2.plus.net

Your problems seem to be occuring either somewhere before.. or at that particular gateway (which is specifically used by adsl2+).

Whilst there have been numerous teething problems with 21CN... your latency is way too high.. and the speeds far too low to be acceptible... or even part of the 10 day training period.

The thing that did occur earlier was that your SNR could be low and you may be racking up lots of CRC type errors which would be slowing you down and increasing the latency.  However if you did a reboot and picked up a new sync then this should in theory clear.

I'm sorry but I disagree that its the 10 day training period causing you to see these symptoms.
By all means post your linestats and we will have a look for you..  but to be frank it needs to go back to Plusnet stating that this is not part of the normal training period and needs further investigation..
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adams901

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2009, 01:51:28 PM »

Cheers, I'll chase them up as they have gone all quiet today.

I ran the Broadband fault checker last night and it said it couldnt be completed.

My SNR is about 12db, but this carried over from normal ADSL as i had a router fault and didnt notice it until it was too late, I can tweak the SNR down with the DG834GT but I would rather wait until it drops normally.. even so, with my sync speed I should still be getting about 350kb/s.

oh the joys :)
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31911
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2009, 06:27:57 PM »

You certainly should.

It may also be an idea if you post on the community forums where someone like James/Matt may pick it up.

Good luck  :fingers:
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adams901

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2009, 03:24:40 PM »

They replied to my ticket after some tests were carried out and say they can see a loss in my connection.

I'm assuming a loss in connection is different to a loss of signal/Resync? I can start a download it it wont fail or ever drop to 0kb/s it just takes all year :P

Also, here are my router stats, as you can see, it lists the modulation mode as ADSL2 and not ADSL2+ (both my routers do this).

Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason:   8000
Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 824 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4419 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode:    ADSL2
Channel:    Fast
Trellis:    U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:    No Defect
Training Status:   Showtime
Down    Up
SNR (dB):   11.4    5.2
Attn(dB):   45.5    28.9
Pwr(dBm):   0.0    12.9
Max(Kbps):   4876    816
Rate (Kbps):   4419    824
G.dmt framing
K:    139(0)    13
R:    6    16
S:    1    8
D:    64    8
ADSL2 framing
MSGc:    59    10
B:    138    12
M:    1    8
T:    1    9
R:    6    16
S:    0.9991    4.0000
L:    1161    240
D:    64    8
Counters
SF:    4044121    3647863
SFErr:    6    0
RS:    262867916    1237030
RSCorr:    3744    0
RSUnCorr:   11    0

HEC:    4    0
OCD:    0    0
LCD:    0    0
Total Cells:   684451103    343236
Data Cells:   2408514    1976
Drop Cells:   0
Bit Errors:   0    0

ES:    3    0
SES:    0    0
UAS:    47    0
AS:    65662

INP:    1.32    2.13
PER:    16.23    18.00
delay:    15.98    8.00
OR:    32.02    7.11

Bitswap:   13430    4

Total time = 18 hours 15 min 28 sec
SF = 4044121
CRC = 6
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES = 3
Latest 1 day time = 18 hours 15 min 28 sec
SF = 4044121
CRC = 6
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES = 3
Latest 15 minutes time = 28 sec
SF = 1729
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES = 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
SF = 55476
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES = 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
SF = 0
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES = 0
15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF = 55413
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES = 0
15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF = 55413
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES = 0
15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF = 55414
CRC = 0
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES = 0
Showtime Drop Reason:   8000
Last Retrain Reason:   8000

Logged

orainsear

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 635
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2009, 07:53:33 PM »

I'm assuming a loss in connection is different to a loss of signal/Resync?

They could be talking about packet loss which is also evident in your pingplotter graph.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31911
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2009, 12:28:05 AM »

>> I'm assuming a loss in connection is different to a loss of signal/Resync?

Usually its taken to mean as a loss of sync with the exchange.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adams901

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2009, 01:36:31 AM »

hmm, i was under the impression they ment loss of sync, but my router clearly shows there was no loss of sync for over 18 hours, infact my router has only just had a loss of sync which is the first one for 24 hours.

Oh well lets see what happens, clearly nothing will until after the weekend :(
Logged

pete~

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2009, 10:45:03 PM »

This may sound noobie but........try a different filter, i had speeds like that once, and with a change in filter, it was resolved :D
Logged

GunJack

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 443
Re: ADSL2+
« Reply #11 on: September 27, 2009, 07:41:50 AM »

adams901 - if you need to, DMT v8.07 works with the D-Link 2640B router.....either straight from the DMT download site if you're on v3.xx firmware, or if on v4.xx from here:-

http://www.beforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=67779
Logged
8)..........Gettin' There, Wherever There is..........8)