Broadband Related > ISPs

Tiscali BB Service Outages

(1/4) > >>

Charlie1375:
Hi. I'm a Tiscali Customer who like many others is suffering from Tiscali's random service outages. For example; for the 2nd time since Sunday, last night at about 9:45 - the BB connection ceases and is replaced with the green BT Wholesale Service Page. Tiscali technical support has been about as much use as a 'chocolate fireguard' - recently, when my Tiscali supplied router died, Tiscali tech support asked me if I had another PSU to try incase the original had failed?!!  When I advised them that I hadn't and referred them to the specific voltages of these adaptors, I was told 'the voltage doesn't matter'. Anyway, I digress. Are you any the wiser as to what is happening with tiscali at the moment?

Many thanks.

roseway:
Hi and welcome.

I've got no personal experience of Tiscali (thank heavens) but as you obviously know, they're in all sorts of trouble at the moment. I think that the best advice is to get out if you're not still tied to a long contract, and move to a decent ISP.

There are some other Tiscali users here who will probably have something to say.

waltergmw:
Hi Charlie1375,

You'll see at:-

http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/tiscali/3611485-tiscali-outage-in-essex.html?fpart=all&vc=1
that Tiscali are affected by the fibre break under the Thames particularly if you're in the Essex area.

Kind regards,
Walter

kitz:
I notice they issued this release saying that service should have been restored by 3am Thus morning.

--- Quote ---BT have continued repairs throughout the night, and both affected IPStream centrals returned to full service at approx 03:30. All impacted services have now been restored, but remain at risk whilst BT engineering works continue. It will still be some time until a fully normal service is resumed.
--- End quote ---

Charlie1375: