Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Solved? - Hope so! ADSL causing noise on voice line - Help!  (Read 5977 times)

jhiker

• Just arrived
Solved? - Hope so! ADSL causing noise on voice line - Help!
« on: April 28, 2007, 10:04:20 PM »

Hi - newbie here - looks like a very informative forum...

What do you make of this - I have an ongoing problem and am at my wit's end. It's a bit long and I apologise, but I'd be grateful for any suggestions.

I have a Netgear DG834 wireless ADSL modem router and it's causing high noise levels on my phone line to such an extent that it's hard to hold a telephone conversation. I have a BT phone line and my ISP is freedom2surf. I'm on Max ADSL and about 1km from the exchange as the crow flies.

My setup is this....
Phone line comes into house in hallway to a BT NTE5 master socket. I have fitted an ADSLnation filtered faceplate in place of the BT front cover. There are no satellite phone extensions running off this box.

Into the voice side of the faceplate this I have a 2-way phone splitter - one line runs to a 'normal' phone also in the hallway - one line runs to a mains powered DECT cordless phone in the kitchen.
My ADSL router is in an upstairs bedroom and is connected to the faceplate with a CAT5 twisted pair cable also from ADSLnation.

When the router is plugged in there's a hell of a lot of noise on the phone line which is evident on both phones - when I unplug the router the noise goes away - plug it back in and the noise returns immediately. It seems as if the router is feeing back noise into the phone line but I didn't know this was even possible. I don't think it's the phones - I can disconnect either of them and the noise remains on the other one - it has to be the router surely?