Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Netgear  (Read 4062 times)

Shaft

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Netgear
« on: March 29, 2007, 08:23:58 PM »

Having read all the bits about Netgear  DG834 v2 I though I would update my software on it, downloaded v2_3_1_uk to my desktop no problem, open the Netgear  thingy no problem, but I cannot get the downloaded file to open, any body help me?
Logged

havelock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
Re: Netgear
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2007, 10:44:30 PM »

Did you follow the installation instructions?

http://kbserver.netgear.com/release_notes/D103044.asp

Router Config Screen >> Maintainence >> Upgrade if memory serves


Also, i'd advise using Internet Explorer 6 to apply this if you can, as I think the router uses activeX to upload the firmware - not 100% on this though as I've not got one to test


Rgds
Havelock
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39430
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Netgear
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2007, 07:31:01 AM »

I don't think it does use ActiveX (in fact I'm sure it doesn't). I've upgraded the firmware on mine from a Linux browser more than once.

Eric
Logged
  Eric

Shaft

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Netgear
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2007, 09:57:42 AM »

Yes, I have IE6, got rid of IE7 when i read all the posts in CA forums.    The file just won't open, it says windows can't identify the programme used etc, I can do all the other things but it won't upload to my Netgear modem.   Normally a zip file will unzip when you click on it but this one will not!
Logged

Shaft

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Netgear
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2007, 10:14:15 AM »

OK folks I just got it done.   If I had read the side panel on the left where it said Folder Tasks, extract all files I wouldn't have needed to bother you guys.
Netgear now updated to Firmware Version 3_1_uk.
Thanks for your help, it was much appreciated
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39430
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Netgear
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2007, 10:38:36 AM »

No bother, glad you got it sorted.

Eric
Logged
  Eric
 

anything