Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Underscanning  (Read 5392 times)

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Underscanning
« on: February 18, 2009, 01:11:01 PM »

Is it just me (or my PC) but forum pages are now displayed about 15% underscanned ie. you need to use the horizontal cursor to see the whole page. Is anyone else seeing this or have I got a funny?
Tony
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2009, 01:12:27 PM »

They display fine for me Tony.  :)
Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2009, 01:13:31 PM »

Seems ok to me. I presume you mean that the forum requires scrolling left/right in order to see it properly? If so, that's a bit odd.

Can you post a screenshot of what you mean, and what browser and version you're using? Thanks :)
Logged
Chris

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2009, 01:37:01 PM »

Not sure if this will work as I've not popsted a screen shot before and the definition seems poor. However it does show the effect.
Tony
Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2009, 01:49:19 PM »

Yeah, the definition is pretty poor on that screenshot, don't know why! Anyway, can just about see what's going on, and that you're using Firefox.

It could be to do with a Firefox extension that you've got installed, as I've just tried the forum in Firefox and it works fine (i.e. no horizontal scrollbar).

You could try disabling your extensions (Tools / Add-ons) one by one until you find the one that's causing the issue, if that's what it is.

Good luck :)
Logged
Chris

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2009, 01:51:54 PM »

It would seem that the web pages are not "centred" on the monitor, look at that big white gap down the left hand side.
I can't make out from the screeny which browser you are using, but it will somewhere have the option for a "full screen mode"............have you tried that and does it help.

The site pages are fine in my Opera and in my IE7
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2009, 01:53:13 PM »

Forgot to mention Tony,I'm using FF3 with no problems,so as Mr Chris has said it could be an add-on that's causing it.

Is it just these forum pages that are causing this problem.
Logged

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2009, 01:56:57 PM »

Thanks everyone for responding. I was starting to think it might be an add-on and I'll have a look at that. Meantime having (I hope!) got my act together with Paint Shop Pro, this should be a better screenshot.
Tony
Logged

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2009, 02:15:22 PM »

This is very strange. Disabling all my add-ons did not cure the problem but if I use IE6 it's back to normal. I will look more closely at FF set up.(I'm using 3.06).
Tony
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32622
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2009, 02:25:07 PM »

I dont know if its the screen cap, but that text looks huge.

Do you view in a larger than normal text size..  or sometimes what can happen is you can accidently increase the text size with use of the scroller.

You can reset your text size in FF from
> View
> Zoom
> reset
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2009, 02:31:34 PM »

I dont know if its the screen cap, but that text looks huge.

Do you view in a larger than normal text size..  or sometimes what can happen is you can accidently increase the text size with use of the scroller.

You can reset your text size in FF from
> View
> Zoom
> reset

I have just zoomed the text size to very big,but it didn't alter the page,just the text
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #11 on: February 18, 2009, 02:34:23 PM »

No problem here with using FF or IE6.

Have you tried the full screen option "F11" and F11 again to get back to normal.

Also have you changed your graphics screen resolution for a lower setting?

Yes the white strip down the left hand side does look odd, would not have thought using a smaller zoom would cause that to happen.
Logged

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2009, 02:35:43 PM »

Thanks Kitz. I don't know how it happened but you got it in one! Strange how it's not obvious on the "site" page although the text is not quite right looking more closely. Anyway thanks all for taking an interest and I'll know what it is next time.
Tony
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29542
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2009, 02:39:21 PM »

Glad its sorted Tony,its the little things that drives us up the wall.   :wall: :doh:
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: Underscanning
« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2009, 02:43:46 PM »

>>>I don't know how it happened but you got it in one<<<

 :clap2: :clap:
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything