Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Increased my internet speed by 75%...thought i should share  (Read 51200 times)

mikk

Increased my internet speed by 75%...thought i should share
« on: March 29, 2007, 10:28:06 AM »

I'm no expert so feel free to correct me!

I'm a computer geek guys, plain and simple! Im doin network technologies at Uni and am always wantin faster downloads. I got my line upgraded from 1 meg to 'Up to 8 meg' and have been waiting on this annoying speed test, the test finally settled down at about 2900kbs which i wasnt completely satisfied with to be honest. I'd been reading about interference noise reducing connection speed and length of line obviously effecting signal power and there for speed. I set off researching on how i could improve my connection. I already had a few ideas.

-- Move Router (i use 2 in my home network) to the main tel. line (used to be on and extention line of the main socket)
-- Cut out some excess line that wasnt needed.

I looked it all up and it seemed pretty straight forward, so i took a screenie of line stats from my home hub (which isnt the best of routers but it'll do!)

The third line down shows that the upload speed is at 448kbs (this didnt change)
The third line also shows that my download speed was at 2900kbs.

Usefull Info on profiles:

ATM Line sync speed
IP Data Rate
from 288Kbps 0.25Mbps
from 576Kbps 0.5Mbps
from 1152Kbps 1Mbps
from 1728Kbps 1.5Mbps
from 2272Kbps 2Mbps
from 2848Kbps 2.5Mbps
from 3424Kbps 3Mbps
from 4000Kbps 3.5Mbps
from 4544Kbps 4Mbps
from 5120Kbps 4.5Mbps
from 5696Kbps 5Mbps
from 6240Kbps 5.5Mbps
from 6816Kbps 6Mbps
From 7392Kbps 6.5Mbps
from 7968Kbps 7Mbps
from 8128Kbps 7.15Mbps

For me the above data shows that i'd only get 2.5 meg because my line syncs at 2900. I figured id try change that!