Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5

Author Topic: BT Broadband  (Read 16668 times)

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #30 on: February 09, 2009, 07:17:23 AM »

 ;)  Speedtest was a laugh wasn't it.  Thanks though for the reassurance, since the last 3 months have seen some wierd results, including that dip and climb back out.  I am a fair distance from the exchange and didn't expect any better than around 2meg, but the latest recovery to 4.4meg is certainly welcome.

Colin


« Last Edit: February 09, 2009, 07:23:08 AM by camallison »
Logged

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #31 on: February 10, 2009, 08:40:52 AM »

 :wall: :hmm: :mad: :'(



Been like this now for a fair few hours and seems to have reset itself 8 hours ago - we didn't have any power cuts.

Colin

« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 08:45:59 AM by camallison »
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29541
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #32 on: February 10, 2009, 08:49:27 AM »

Colin,have you run the BT speedtester to see what results you get.


www.speedtester.bt.com
Logged

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #33 on: February 10, 2009, 09:01:13 AM »

Here they are, and also a sample of the past week of monitoring by Samknows (I have one of their monitors on the line):
« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 09:11:54 AM by camallison »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31559
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #34 on: February 10, 2009, 01:30:29 PM »

It looks like your line may have become noisy :(
Its lost the connection at some point recently and judging from your stats now, its had to sync at a lower speed to be able to cope.

Unfortunately the lower sync speed will now also land you with a lower IPprofile which is going to affect your throughput.

Time to get routerstats running on the line to monitor the SNR to see if it can pin-point any patterns in the noise.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #35 on: February 10, 2009, 02:34:43 PM »

I now have routerstats lite running is that OK?

Noise margin is currently (only been running 15 minutes so far) sat at 12 dB.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31559
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #36 on: February 10, 2009, 03:14:19 PM »

Yes should be fine - its your SNRM that needs monitoring. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #37 on: February 10, 2009, 03:38:55 PM »

Since I have a BT Home Hub v.1 am I right in assuming that only the Lite version will run OK?  CORRECTION - The noise MARGIN is 12dB

See attached
« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 03:47:20 PM by camallison »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39294
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #38 on: February 10, 2009, 04:14:33 PM »

I'm not sure what your PDF was meant to be, but all it shows is the up and down noise margins. If you want to attach a graphic, a .gif or .png is usually more effective. (Hope you don't mind my saying this :) )
Logged
  Eric

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #39 on: February 10, 2009, 04:36:16 PM »

Whoops! - you're right, I put the wrong attachment on - senior moment  :-[

Since then, this occurred  see png attachment

[EDIT] and the BT Home Hub shows one loss of signal (local) in its detailed link information page.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 04:41:30 PM by camallison »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39294
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #40 on: February 10, 2009, 04:48:20 PM »

Did the router record that loss of signal at the time where the Routerstats graph shows the brief dip, or was it unconnected? The reason I ask is that Routerstats and RS-Lite do sometimes display a glitch like that, but it's not a real connection drop but merely one sample which RS failed to get from the router. If the connection speed was unchanged, I think that it's likely to be the latter.
Logged
  Eric

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #41 on: February 10, 2009, 05:05:45 PM »

The router shows one loss of signal (and only one) that occurred around the same time - it is on another floor from where I work and, naturally I am monitoring it through the network.  Interesting though, the SNRM has now gone down to 11.5

[EDIT] - being a BT Home Hub, I can't get at the stats to look at timing of the loss.
Logged

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #42 on: February 10, 2009, 06:22:39 PM »

This is more recent - attached
Logged

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #43 on: February 10, 2009, 06:33:25 PM »

Routerstats and RS-Lite do sometimes display a glitch like that, but it's not a real connection drop but merely one sample which RS failed to get from the router. If the connection speed was unchanged, I think that it's likely to be the latter.
It appears unchanged at 2528 so certainly just a missing data point.
It behaves like that for me; I sometimes use DMT to check for certain that it's not done a resync at the same speed, but it never does.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39294
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #44 on: February 10, 2009, 06:36:26 PM »

Yes, the speed of the recovery (only one sample missed) also supports that view.
Logged
  Eric
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
 

anything