Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: BT Broadband  (Read 18165 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32108
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2009, 06:16:35 PM »

Judging from your line stats before and after - it looks like there was a very quick noise burst.

Did a neighbour come home turn on something on... flick of a switch electric type of thing.  Main thing is that it has recovered, so what ever it was was very rapid.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2009, 06:47:21 PM »

Looks like someone sneezed here too!  Down from 4.3meg   :'(

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32108
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2009, 08:03:21 PM »

 :'(
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2009, 08:28:25 AM »

 :'(


 Line Mode G.DMT   Line State Show Time 
 Latency Type Interleave   Line Up Time 00:01:18:34 
 Line Coding Trellis On   Line Up Count 21 
   
 Statistics Downstream Upstream 
 Line Rate 2624 Kbps 448 Kbps 
 Noise Margin 6.0 dB 12.0 dB 
 Line Attenuation 63.5 dB 31.5 dB 
 Output Power 17.7 dBm 12.2 dBm 
 K (number of bytes in DMT frame) 83 15 
 R (number of check bytes in RS code word) 16 16 
 S (RS code word size in DMT frame) 2 8 
 D (interleaver depth) 16 4 
 Super Frames 277240  277238   
 Super Frame Errors 1  0   
 RS Words 9426172  2356523   
 RS Correctable Errors 4576  0   
 RS Uncorrectable Errors 14  0   
 HEC Errors 1  0   
 OCD Errors 0  0   
 LCD Errors 0  0   
 ES Errors 0  0   
   

Logged

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2009, 09:00:21 AM »

Wayhay - back up to the dizzy 4+meg level again - maybe it was congestion late yesterday? :thumbs:



Colin
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #20 on: February 07, 2009, 10:01:49 AM »

Wayhay - back up to the dizzy 4+meg level again - maybe it was congestion late yesterday? :thumbs:



Colin

Your upload looks low Colin ?
Logged

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #21 on: February 07, 2009, 10:17:14 AM »

It varies a lot, between 150 and 360 - not sure why, but very happy with the download as I do a lot of online reading of research info and reports as part of one of my "retirement jos".  Waiting for pdfs to download meant I was drinking lots of coffee - now the speed is back up, coffee consumption goes down.

I make a lot of use of the BT OpenZone/Fon WiFi when out and about and so I am stuck with the BT Home Hub as I have "let" OpenZone have enable public access in exchange for free FON minutes.  Otherwise, I would join others here and tweak my modem/router.

Colin
Logged

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #22 on: February 07, 2009, 10:24:48 AM »

Here's a better one



I have found (as have we all I am sure) that it pays to perform a series of tests over the course of the day rather than concentrate on one isolated set of results.

Just keeping my fingers crossed that it stays high!
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32108
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2009, 03:00:28 PM »

The second result looks more normal.
The earlier one could have either been something else using the upstream - in which case check your sync speed to make sure all is well.  Also worth checking is the upstream CRC type errors which can cause slow throughput.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #24 on: February 08, 2009, 06:27:40 PM »

:fingers:

Can anyone shed any light on this

It kept happening this afternoon.

Here are the stats, attached
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 06:32:13 PM by camallison »
Logged

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #25 on: February 08, 2009, 06:49:50 PM »

Hi
Greased lightning  :lol:
Logged
zen user

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #26 on: February 08, 2009, 06:52:59 PM »

:)

It's just a defective result from the speed test site. It happens from time to time.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32108
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #27 on: February 08, 2009, 07:52:27 PM »

 :lol:
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #28 on: February 08, 2009, 09:02:24 PM »

Do the attached stats, taken from the BT Home Hub say anything though?
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32108
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #29 on: February 08, 2009, 09:23:28 PM »

Sorry colin I was too busy laughing at impossible speedtest :-[

The stats look fine..   Youre syncing within acceptable parameters for the length of your line,
The downstream errors are racking up, but if those were spread out over 3 days, then your line should be able to cope quite well.

The 230 upstream Errored seconds are weird, because theres no actual CRC/HEC upstream errors recorded, and since the upstream SNR is good so it could be an old record retained by the dslam.

Theres an awful lot of FECs, but again it looks like the router is coping.  Interleaving is working well and benefiting your line.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
 

anything