Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: BT Broadband  (Read 17823 times)

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
BT Broadband
« on: February 04, 2009, 09:47:52 AM »

Hi all,

Ever since I have been with BT BB my line has only been able to support up to 1mb(according to various linecheckers including the one on this site)
I checked it the other day and now it says my line can support up to 1.5mb

For the last few weeks my IP profile has been 2000kbps.I am on a long line 63.5 down and 31.5 up attenuation.Can something have been put in place to make my line support a bit faster connection speed.


(Copied on 2009-02-04 09:41:22)
Download: 1947 Kbit/s
Upload : 377 kbit/s
Connects : 1727 conn/min
Ping: 47 ms
« Last Edit: February 04, 2009, 09:50:19 AM by UncleUB »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2009, 10:09:55 AM »

The line checkers only read data from the BT database, which tends to be conservative; they don't actually check the line. I suspect that what's happened in your case is that your physical line has improved in some way, giving you a higher connection speed, and the database has caught up with this improvement and is now indicating a higher capability than it did before. The improvement could be something as simple as an Openreach engineer noticing a corroded joint and repairing it, or something like that.
Logged
  Eric

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2009, 10:10:52 AM »

Oh I see,thanks Eric.  :)
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3992
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2009, 12:41:32 PM »

The line checkers only read data from the BT database, which tends to be conservative; they don't actually check the line. I suspect that what's happened in your case is that your physical line has improved in some way, giving you a higher connection speed, and the database has caught up with this improvement and is now indicating a higher capability than it did before. The improvement could be something as simple as an Openreach engineer noticing a corroded joint and repairing it, or something like that.

Eric,

I don't want to contradict you (as I'm sure I'd be wrong), but I can't resist pointing out that the 'BTw estimators' for my line have, with some lag, tracked the improvements I've made (all thanks to this forum), which have resulted in getting my speed up from the middel 1xxx's to the high 3xxx's.  Each step in the improvement has corresponded to some action on my part (cutting the bell wire, optimising filters, different router etc.).

Also, one day a week or three ago I got resynched late at night and got a lower connection speed.  I left it that way for a while out of curiousity to see how the error rates were affected , which is irrelevant  to this topic, but I'm fairly sure I noticed the BTw estimator also reduced it's guess at that time.

At risk of going slightly off-topic, I think I once read on a forum (don't know if it was kitz) a suggestion that a target margin reduction may co-incide with a revised value from the BTw estimator.  In my case,  that's not been so.  Target SNR stuck at 15 since last summer, manually tweaked down a little,  but in that time the BTw estimator has increased from 1mbps to 3mbps.

Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3992
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2009, 01:01:33 PM »

I don't want to contradict you

Actually, I don't think I am contradicing you, which is good.  I'm not sure why I thought I was. :-[
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2009, 01:09:04 PM »

Just to add to my earlier post.I have always had my router plugged into the main socket,don't have any extensions in the house.I have never tweaked anything,just left it to run its course so to speak.

Here's my latest stats.

Line Mode G.DMT   Line State Show Time 
 Latency Type Interleave   Line Up Time 15:19:49:29 
 Line Coding Trellis On   Line Up Count 18 
   
 Statistics Downstream Upstream 
 Line Rate 2528 Kbps 448 Kbps 
 Noise Margin 6.1 dB 12.0 dB 
 Line Attenuation 63.5 dB 31.5 dB 
 Output Power 17.3 dBm 12.2 dBm 
 K (number of bytes in DMT frame) 80 15 
 R (number of check bytes in RS code word) 16 16 
 S (RS code word size in DMT frame) 2 8 
 D (interleaver depth) 16 4 
 Super Frames 80432693  80432691   
 Super Frame Errors 5020  654   
 RS Words 2734711574  146806961   
 RS Correctable Errors 16120031  8684   
 RS Uncorrectable Errors 28231  0   
 HEC Errors 4548  0   
 OCD Errors 61  0   
 LCD Errors 0  0   
 ES Errors 0  0   
 
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3992
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2009, 01:25:56 PM »

Just to add to my earlier post.I have always had my router plugged into the main socket,don't have any extensions in the house.I have never tweaked anything,just left it to run its course so to speak.

Here's my latest stats.

Line Mode G.DMT   Line State Show Time 
 Latency Type Interleave   Line Up Time 15:19:49:29 
 Line Coding Trellis On   Line Up Count 18 
   
 Statistics Downstream Upstream 
 Line Rate 2528 Kbps 448 Kbps 
 Noise Margin 6.1 dB 12.0 dB 
 Line Attenuation 63.5 dB 31.5 dB 
 Output Power 17.3 dBm 12.2 dBm 
 K (number of bytes in DMT frame) 80 15 
 R (number of check bytes in RS code word) 16 16 
 S (RS code word size in DMT frame) 2 8 
 D (interleaver depth) 16 4 
 Super Frames 80432693  80432691   
 Super Frame Errors 5020  654   
 RS Words 2734711574  146806961   
 RS Correctable Errors 16120031  8684   
 RS Uncorrectable Errors 28231  0   
 HEC Errors 4548  0   
 OCD Errors 61  0   
 LCD Errors 0  0   
 ES Errors 0  0   
 

Uncle,
I think the only difference between us is is that in your case the line has improved for reasons unkown, so as Eric says, it may have been some Engineering work by Openreach that led to an improvement.  In my case, it was my own fiddling that brought about the improvements.

In both cases the improvements led to the same outcome... a higher estimate, reflecting that fact that improvements have occured, regardless of who made the improvements.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31977
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2009, 02:22:03 PM »

iirc UB, your line has always been pretty good considering its length. - correct me if Im wrong cause I see lots of stats - but I seem to recall that youve always been able to sync at over or above 1.5Mb despite the records saying 1Mb

I'm guessing here that this could be twofold

1) I think perhaps as eric says that perhaps a joint has been replaced which may account for that little bit more sync speed.
2) The Btw data base has finally caught up with the fact that you reliably sync at >1.5Mb and has updated. - It only took BT 2 years to catch up on mine.

As SLM suggested it may be that as a result of 1), then 2) has occurred.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2009, 03:35:09 PM »

@ Kitz,yes thats right I have always had an IP profile of 1.5kbps to 1.75kbps,its just the last few weeks I have had an IP profile of 2000kbps.I have never reached speed before.
Just to add when I first started with BT BB in May 2007 my downstream snr was around 14 to 15 and over time has gradually reduced until its reached the around 6.0 mark.
Is it correct in saying that reduction is due to the stability in my line.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31977
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2009, 10:39:53 AM »

>> Is it correct in saying that reduction is due to the stability in my line.

Yes :)

...  and as your Target SNR reduces, then that enables you to sync at a higher speed.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2009, 12:27:03 PM »

Well just noticed I had a re-sync about 5 hours ago.I can't believe it has re-synced at 3072downstream  :o

Line Mode G.DMT   Line State Show Time 
 Latency Type Interleave   Line Up Time 00:05:11:50 
 Line Coding Trellis On   Line Up Count 19 
   
 Statistics Downstream Upstream 
 Line Rate 3072 Kbps 448 Kbps 
 Noise Margin 5.8 dB 12.0 dB 
 Line Attenuation 63.5 dB 31.5 dB 
 Output Power 17.9 dBm 12.0 dBm 
 K (number of bytes in DMT frame) 97 15 
 R (number of check bytes in RS code word) 16 16 
 S (RS code word size in DMT frame) 2 8 
 D (interleaver depth) 16 4 
 Super Frames 1100585  1100583   
 Super Frame Errors 163  14   
 RS Words 37419902  9354955   
 RS Correctable Errors 16848  178   
 RS Uncorrectable Errors 2996  0   
 HEC Errors 122  0   
 OCD Errors 12  0   
 LCD Errors 0  0   
 ES Errors 0  0   
   

If that maintains itself It will give me an IP profile of 2500kbps  :thumbs: :dance:
« Last Edit: February 06, 2009, 12:29:23 PM by UncleUB »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39418
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2009, 12:45:55 PM »

You'd better not breathe on it, just in case :)
Logged
  Eric

camallison

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1357
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2009, 12:53:25 PM »

I am presently holding my breath too - about a month ago I dropped from 3.8meg to 1.9meg for no immediately obvious reason.  Yesterday we had a 3 hour power cut in the village, but only on one phase (our phase!!!).  Over the past month, our house lights have been flickering quite a lot in wet weather.  The power company told me that a joint on an overhead line in the fields had been arcing (now they tell me), probably for a whole month and then eventually failed.  At times over the month, REIN has been evident in a very spikey chart for my broadband connection.

Once the power came back on yesterday, and naturally the REIN had stopped, I re-synced at 4.3meg.  Now I am just hoping it won't take a dive again.

Fingers crossed!
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31977
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2009, 01:43:26 PM »

 :fingers:
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: BT Broadband
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2009, 06:12:17 PM »

Who sneezed. ?

Re-synched 43 minutes ago,but not much less than previous one.

Line Mode G.DMT   Line State Show Time 
 Latency Type Interleave   Line Up Time 00:00:45:03 
 Line Coding Trellis On   Line Up Count 20 
   
 Statistics Downstream Upstream 
 Line Rate 2976 Kbps 448 Kbps 
 Noise Margin 5.9 dB 12.0 dB 
 Line Attenuation 63.5 dB 31.5 dB 
 Output Power 17.6 dBm 12.4 dBm 
 K (number of bytes in DMT frame) 94 15 
 R (number of check bytes in RS code word) 16 16 
 S (RS code word size in DMT frame) 2 8 
 D (interleaver depth) 16 4 
 Super Frames 159004  159002   
 Super Frame Errors 12  0   
 RS Words 5406148  1351517   
 RS Correctable Errors 1579  8   
 RS Uncorrectable Errors 53  0   
 HEC Errors 12  0   
 OCD Errors 0  0   
 LCD Errors 0  0   
 ES Errors 0  0 
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5