Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: new router help  (Read 6922 times)

GWaddy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 10
new router help
« on: January 25, 2009, 05:24:25 PM »

Hi all I'm hoping someone here is able to help me I currently have a linksys ag241 v1 router which has decided that it gets to choose wether the ethernet is connected or not. I've tried using static ip addresses and dhcp (both work but only if the router feels like it) updated to the latest firmware swapped cables and the problem is persisting and feels like it is getting worse, though that may be heightened frustration levels on my part ???

I've decided it's time to upgrade and am looking for advice on what to get next.

We have a fairly computerised household there are two xp pc's, a vista laptop, ps3, psp, wii and a couple of PDA's. Another issue I would like to resolve is that the Ps3 won't interact with UPnP.

The wireless part of my network is currently handled bt an AP but I wouldn't be averse to getting a combined wired/wireless item and ditching the AP, particularly if that allows an upgrade to wireless n.

I'm connected to the Hornsea (East Yorkshire) exchange which has no LLU operators and have an adsl max connection with Firefly as my ISP.

From reading this excellent site I've gathered among many other things that It is advisable to match your routers chipset to the one in my DSLAM, but I'm unsure how to get that information.

Hopefully one of you good people will be able to advise me.

Regards, Gary

Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39663
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: new router help
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2009, 06:55:09 PM »

Some routers (e.g. Speedtouch) report the DSLAM manufacturer, but I don't think there's any official way to get that information now. The theory that it may help to match the router to the DSLAM is only that (a theory) so it probably isn't worth devoting a lot of effort to it.

There's no one router which is best in all circumstances, but possible candidates are:

Thomson/Speedtouch DG585/ST585
Netgear DG834GT (The unofficial DGTeam firmware is good)

These are both wireless routers, and for most 'normal' purposes they function as well as separate APs.
Logged
  Eric

GWaddy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: new router help
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2009, 07:38:47 PM »

thanks for the reply roseway, I've been looking at the netgear ones and think i'll probably order one of those i'm not sure wether to go for the DG834GT or should I go for the DG834N as that seems to be compatible with the DMT tool and the DGTeam firmware also. I suppose the question is is the N worth 30 more? the house is fairly large and wireless g doesn't quite get the extremities

I'm going to order from amazon for Kitz to get the commission, do I just use the link on the home page of the main site?

well I say I'm going to order that is if the linksys doesn't realise and stop all it's ethernet connections again.   
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9114
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: new router help
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2009, 08:54:22 PM »

I myself am a bit of a cracked record on this, but I'd suggest also take a look at non-wireless routers, as IMHO they mean that you can pick a router and a separate wireless access point on their own merits rather than having to compromise.

You have the freedom to choose the best router and upgrade the wireless access point independantly, you can position the access point wherever it suits you best for good wireless coverage and you can keep it away from the router too which will keep your adsl signal environment noise free (more for users on long lines) so possibly meaning higher speeds.

The Netgear DG834v3 and v4 are definitely worth a look, as are the Speedtouch models. The new 5GHz Netgear N-class wireless access point is worth a look too, as 5GHz is definitely the way to go.
Logged

GWaddy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: new router help
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2009, 09:44:15 AM »

after way too long searching I have decided on the dg834n ordered it through amazon using the link on the main page. many thanks for the advice
Logged

flanker

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: new router help
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2009, 08:57:28 PM »

I am using a DG834N V1 at the moment with the latest DG Team firmware. Lots of bells, whistles and tweakers which negate the need to use DMT tool. There is a built in slider which allows you to adjust target SNR just the same as DMT tool. My sync speed has improved since using the Netgear instead of a BT Hub and has also improved with the DG Team firmware.
My only niggle is the occasional wireless drop out which happens with original and DG Team firmware and does not effect all wireless devices connected at the time, seems I am not alone as there are quite a few threads around on this subject. I have found the quickest way to resolve this is connect by ethernet, disable and re-enable wireless and voila back on again.
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9114
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: new router help
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2009, 01:40:49 AM »

@Flanker - that's good to know aboutthe tweakability of that model.

I remain bigoted as I said earlier, about the virtues of separate wireless access points, and suggest this is a perfect example of what's wrong with them. 802.11n is not yet a standard, and although I've found the Netgear WN802T to be superb, inappropriate siting of the access point can cause slight problems, so one more in favour of separation.

Flanker didn't say whether he/she is using N mode or G mode or whatever?

I'm using a Netgear N-class network card in my favourite laptop with this access point too, and especially seeing as N isn't a standard yet, having the two from the same stable may be quite significant. Since flanker points out that the reliability problems don't hit every device at the same time, disabling and re-enabling your _WNIC_ on your PC should do the trick. (In Windows Vista, the diagnose and repair feature can re-initialise the WNIC and its drivers too.) So that surely ought to be easier than needing to fiddle with the wireless router. Of course check that you have up-to-date firmware in the router and check that your WNIC drivers are up-to-date. It may also be that you're getting interference from neighbours? Do you see other wireless networks listed? (Not always a good test if some out there have SSID broadcast disabled.) Worth switching channels too, to see if you can get away from neighbours. Microwave ovens will kill you if you are using 2.4GHz (ie. 802.11g/b or 2.4GHz n-mode as opposed to the new 5GHz band) on channels 10 or higher. If this applies to you, switch to channel 1 and then if that improves things fine, else try channel 6.
Logged

waltergmw

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2772
Re: new router help
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2009, 07:14:18 AM »

Hi weaver,

I'm even more of a bigot as I like to avoid wireless altogether and opt for home plugs.
Taken as a business proposition, the amount of labour consumed in chasing one's wireless tail doesn't bear thinking about.

It has to be said though that there are significant advantages from a wire-free connection, provided you live in a perfect world.

Kind regards,
Walter.
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5190
Re: new router help
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2009, 04:16:41 PM »

Hi Gwaddy,

Speaking from my own recent experience, I can't praise the Netgear DG834GT highly enough, it's been in use since well before christmas and there's not been a single dropout of either wireless or DSL.  I bought it (the Sky-branded version) on ebay auction for around a tenner or so.  Previous to that I tried a TG585V7, which wasn't such a happy story.  DSL performance was lacklustre and wireless kept hanging every couple of hours.

The Netgear's running Netgear firmware, but that's just because I haven't got around to trying the DGTeam which is reputed to be a further improvement.  These are only my experiences, and may not reflect others, feel free to disregard :)

I'm even more of a bigot as I like to avoid wireless altogether and opt for home plugs.
I agree with that Walter, to the extent that I've gone even further and wired my house out with CAT5E cabling from a central gigabit switch, which I use for anything other than web-surfing.  But for web access from a laptop or, even more so, from an IPod touch which has recently appeared in our household, I'm not sure I could live without wireless.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32550
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: new router help
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2009, 07:10:28 PM »

I feel like Im doing a 'me too'

Ive tried an ex sky DG834GT with various firmwares - although on my line there seems to be little performance difference between Standard Netgear, UberGT and DGTeam... although the 3rd party firmwares do make tweaking a little easier.

Not impressed with my TG585v7 - much prefer the ST585v6 which performs much better.

>> CAT5E cabling from a central gigabit switch,

ditto - aside from the lappies.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9114
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: new router help
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2009, 06:31:59 PM »

Despite having spoken out against the wicked menace that is the wireless router :-) I have to admit that they have one important virtue, lightning protection. Id like to start a thread elsewhere [ http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=4146.0 ] for discussion of anti-surge strategies as DSL products.
Logged

GWaddy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: new router help
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2009, 03:46:07 AM »

well the dg834n arrived yesterday and after a few teething troubles all seems mostly ok, once I'd upgraded the firmware.

I've managed to get the dmt tool to work and am merrilly tweaking my way to 8128 Kbps currently at 7776(70% on the snr bar), but i'm unable to get router stats going just yet.

I tried to download the dgteam firmware but their site seems to be down. can any of you get there?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39663
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: new router help
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2009, 07:13:55 AM »

>> I tried to download the dgteam firmware but their site seems to be down. can any of you get there?

It's still down at the moment. This has happened before, so I expect it will come back soon.
Logged
  Eric

GWaddy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: new router help
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2009, 11:03:47 AM »

thanks roseway, I thought it was down but It's always good to know it's not just me.

I have now got routerstats to work and have got to 8128 Kbps sync by going from 50% to 40% on the noise margin slider but it seems to have introduced more fluctuations in margin, are these normal and will they affect my line stability. here are the dmt http://i583.photobucket.com/albums/ss277/gwaddy_2009/dmt20090130_0906.pngand routerstats http://i583.photobucket.com/albums/ss277/gwaddy_2009/NoiseMargin-2009Jan30-0917.jpg screenshots.

Logged
 

anything