Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: My ISP Sub Domain  (Read 2614 times)

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3566
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
My ISP Sub Domain
« on: January 25, 2009, 01:16:02 AM »

I have been setting up some email address's on my sub domain of my ISP,  :)  Is there any way that someone could look up that sub domain and see who it belongs to ?.  :(
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse Business isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3)line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) Trunk Networks Business isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN  .

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40642
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: My ISP Sub Domain
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2009, 06:58:52 AM »

Open a terminal and type

whois <the address>

and that should tell you.
Logged
  Eric

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8764
  • Prog Rock Fan
Re: My ISP Sub Domain
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2009, 10:02:45 AM »

Logged
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3566
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Re: My ISP Sub Domain
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2009, 09:24:42 PM »

Sorry,  :blush:  I know it was late when I posted this but I should have said that I had tried Whois etc.
You get the reply " This domain cannot be registered because it contravenes the Nominet UK
    naming rules.  The reason is:
      the domain name contains too many parts."

Because it's mysubdomain. atmyisp.co.uk            if you see what I mean.

I can look up my isp ok .

But what I'm worried about is my privacy is not compromised.  :'(   if the sub domain can be looked up in some way.
Logged
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse Business isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3)line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) Trunk Networks Business isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN  .

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40642
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: My ISP Sub Domain
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2009, 10:40:01 PM »

That's the normal response for a subdomain, and as far as I know it means that your privacy isn't compromised, because the subdomain is simply a part of the main domain. But I'm no expert, so maybe someone else can confirm.
Logged
  Eric