Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: PPPoA PPPoE  (Read 5369 times)

cooperfarncombe

• Just arrived
PPPoA PPPoE
« on: January 22, 2009, 11:17:29 PM »

Hi,

I am new to this excellent site and forum. 

I have seen a past thread that recommends routers are set to PPPoA and until recently my router /modem was set to PPPoA.  However after upgrading the router / modem firmware I found that the only way I could get a connection to work for all sites was to select PPPoE.  Some sites (e.g. Google) loaded OK but others (ebay, BBC) were so slow that they timed-out.

The router modem is a Belkin F5D7633-4 and my ISP is Orange over a LLU circuit.  Does anyone know why in these circumstances I need PPPoE?

David

kitz

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: PPPoA PPPoE
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 11:28:07 PM »

Hi and welcome

>> Does anyone know why in these circumstances I need PPPoE?

No sorry I dont.   The backhaul from the exchange is ATM hence the need for PPPoA. 
Some exchanges/equipment will emulate PPPoE, but its actually PPPoEoA and therefore carries additional overheads.

>> but others (ebay, BBC) were so slow that they timed-out.

That actually sounds like an MTU problem.  In fact its actually quite common on Orange - so much so that orangeproblems have actually asked permission to copy my MTU settings page.
Try MTU of 1430.

Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 11:38:16 PM »

Its just dawned why PPPoE is likely working  :doh: