Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: computeractive forum  (Read 5464 times)

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
computeractive forum
« on: January 22, 2009, 02:07:27 PM »

I occasionally look on this forum (Computeractive's) as I know others here do as well. For the last couple of days I cannot get to the site either using my saved bookmark or via Google. Anyone know if there's a problem or have I just missed an announcement or something?
Tony
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 02:21:45 PM »

That forum has been on and off for two or three days, whatever portal you choose to access it.
Nothing you can do.
There has been no announcement that I am aware of, just a lot of wailing from the members that can be read on the odd occasions that it can be accessed.
Logged

Yorkie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
  • I'm working on my warm and fluffy side
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 02:23:00 PM »

I go through the VNU portal,  CAs colours are a bit garish for me, but that's having the same problems, strange thing is its not coming up unavailable just timing out. Floydy visits there more often than I do, he may know when he appears.
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2009, 02:39:32 PM »

Same here,won't load just times out.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31875
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2009, 02:42:53 PM »

It wouldnt run a few mins ago from here..  then I started doing some traces to see if I could find out where the problem is.

It looks like the forum server is down..
However just as I was looking further into it - its now come back up
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

jazz

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 390
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2009, 02:49:39 PM »

I'm obviously dumb and have never visited the site but am I right in assuming that this the forum everyone refers to as CA or "the other place"? ???
Logged

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2009, 02:58:53 PM »

@ jazz, yes that's it.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31875
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2009, 03:00:28 PM »

btw  I noticed the forums were down late last night too
if anyone is interested the reports are/were
Quote

Report on www.computeractive.co.uk (62.140.213.250)


Connections to HTTP port 80 on host www.computeractive.co.uk[proxy-1.vnunet.com] are working but ICMP packets are being blocked past hop 10 (85.133.38.26).
It is a HTTP server running Apache/2.2.8(unix)




Report on forums.computeractive.co.uk (62.140.213.225)

Connections to HTTP for 80 on host forums.computeractive.co.uk [forums-2.gos.vnu.net] are working but ICMP packets are being blocked past hop 10 (85.133.38.26).
It is a HTTP server running Jetty/5.1.1.12(linux/2.6.19-gentoo-r5-vnu01 i386 java/1.6.0_03


I didnt quite manage to grab the earlier report exactly but it said something in red like

Quote
Report on forums.computeractive.co.uk (62.140.213.225)

Connections to HTTP for 80 on host forums.computeractive.co.uk [forums-2.gos.vnu.net] are being blocked at hop 10 (85.133.38.26) RIPE Network Coordination Centre 85-RIPE.

So it looks like a possible server failure were the forum data is located.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

tuftedduck

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 29658
  • Router Luvvin Duck
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2009, 03:05:48 PM »

Spot on Kitz ( no surprise there  :) )

Their admin has just posted thread http://forums.vnunet.com/thread.jspa?threadID=149515&tstart=0

Quote :-

"Hi

As you may have noticed, we're having a server problem that has left the forums inaccessible for significant periods over the last 24 hours.

Our technical staff are working on the problem, and I'll post back when it's fixed. In the meantime, apologies for the inconvenience.

Tom"
Logged

tonyappuk

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 589
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2009, 03:56:37 PM »

Thanks all. As you say Kitz it's up again now and they are apologising for a server problem.
Tony
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: computeractive forum
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2009, 04:35:22 PM »

A few days ago (possibly even a couple of weeks "Time fly's") there was a suggestion to place any info on the home page, but I don't know if it's there or not.
After 2 days of trying to get on, I have given-up trying

edit.
Just opened from the link above, and it is mentioned about notification, but they still have not done anything about it.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 04:38:41 PM by oldfogy »
Logged
 

anything