Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: tower on/monitor off  (Read 4637 times)

tuftedduck

• Senior Kitizen
  • Router Luvvin Duck
tower on/monitor off
« on: January 22, 2009, 10:10:03 AM »

I wonder if some kind soul could advise me please.

Would I do any harm if I were to leave my PC running but with the monitor switched off, damage apart from the size of the electricty bill.

toulouse

• Reg Member
  • I like cheesecake !!!
Re: tower on/monitor off
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 10:15:54 AM »

I'm no expert TD, but that's what I tend to do with mine and I haven't suffered any ill effects so far. I start up my PC when I first get up in the morning and leave it on all day, but if I'm going to be away from the computer for any length of time I just switch off the monitor and switch it back on again when I return.

TTFN

toulouse

Utility Warehouse (via TalkTalk)
FTTC 40/10
ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A
ECI (approx 750 metres)

People tell me that I ought to get out more. But in the words of the great Homer J Simpson, "Yeah, but what ya gonna do ?"

scottiesmum

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 10:22:31 AM »

TD,   My machine has always been running from about 7.30 am  until midnight (ish) without any problem whatsoever; I'm not sure if that's a good idea or not, but I've always done it.    I've  never thought of actually switching the monitor off though  ::)    good idea thank you !   

UncleUB

• Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2009, 10:31:11 AM »

Mine also is on from about 6am to 7pm.

TD,do you mean leave it running 24/7 so you don't have that shutdown poblem ?

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2009, 10:44:35 AM »