Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Hiding IP address  (Read 15200 times)

ralphw

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Hiding IP address
« on: December 10, 2008, 12:23:39 PM »

Is there any fairly straight forward way I can hide my IP address details from admin etc of a forum that I am on? 
I am a mod on the forum and as such not expected to get involved in some of the more heated discussion. But I feel in some instances that I want to add my opinion and at present cannot.
OK so I could go to an internet cafe or the like, and use another persona from there, but that is not a very satifactory option.
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8850
  • Prog Rock Fan
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 12:55:11 PM »

Try googling for 'proxy servers'.
Logged
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

ralphw

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 12:57:39 PM »

OK thanks...
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2009, 10:25:47 AM »

Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2009, 10:37:43 AM »

I think you will find that that is ok for general web surfing, but not for forums.
There may be several reasons why, firstly you may not be allowed to post or even join using a proxy, not to mention notification emails if available (although those would probably not be wanted under the circumstance)

Bottom line, I don't think it is possible.
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2009, 10:48:22 AM »

UltraSurf 9.1

http://www.ultrareach.com/

I use both of these but I do not normally put any login details through them.

I do know a way it can be done but will cost you money.

Fire up a dialup account through a modem while still connected to broadband and your IP will be different, but you will be paying for the dialup costs.

Try it and see, first visit http://www.whatsmyip.org

Start up the dialup account (You can make a free one with orange).
http://www.orange.co.uk/time/dialup/

Go back to http://www.whatsmyip.org/ and see the IP.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2009, 11:09:33 AM by BritBrat »
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2009, 11:11:59 AM »

Good point.
Yes a dial-up account would solve all the problems and as you will only use it "possibly" occasionally, should not cost you to much.
There are a few around that do not need any software installed, you just pay for the call time, on average the last time I used it it was on average 4p per minute during the daytime but cheaper during the evening.
If you have Virgin Media it is free, just type 179 into the dial-up box along with your "original" user-name.
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2009, 11:13:08 AM »

Testing 123

Testing again

Never seemed to work here, maybe Kitz has some cache for IP.

I did have both ADSL and dialup running at same time, and whatsmyip did change the IP shown, but on this site it never changed.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2009, 11:27:00 AM by BritBrat »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33036
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2009, 12:46:00 PM »

>> maybe Kitz has some cache for IP.

Nope

>> I did have both ADSL and dialup running at same time,

You can only have 1 IP per network connection, so will depend on which connection your browser is using.  When I tried it ages ago, my browser always used my adsl IP.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

ralphw

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2009, 12:53:36 PM »

Thanks Britbrat, I look into these suggestions.
Logged

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2009, 01:38:01 PM »

>> maybe Kitz has some cache for IP.

Nope

>> I did have both ADSL and dialup running at same time,

You can only have 1 IP per network connection, so will depend on which connection your browser is using.  When I tried it ages ago, my browser always used my adsl IP.



Just out of interest Kitz, could you check the logs to see if I did come in on another IP at any time around about 11:10 - 11:15 today.

One may be Orange and the other Virgin rather than my Zen IP.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2009, 01:43:05 PM by BritBrat »
Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2009, 01:55:53 PM »

Hmm you would have had to make a post for it to show in the logs. SMF doesn't log ALL forum activity, it just tracks which IP addresses users make posts from., to avoid having stupidly large logfiles!
Logged
Chris

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2009, 02:28:21 PM »

Chris he made a post at:-

Reply #7 on: Today at 11:13:08 AM

*****************************************
> and the other Virgin
Don't forget what I said earlier with regards to the free connection from VM.
Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2009, 02:46:47 PM »

Oops, yes I did see that, I just worded my post a bt badly!

@ Brit - did you close and re-open your browser after connecting to dial-up? If not that might be a possibility.
Logged
Chris

BritBrat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Hiding IP address
« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2009, 04:30:21 PM »

Not sure if I did I will do it again later.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

anything