Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: .NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?  (Read 3505 times)

dave.m

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1453
.NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?
« on: November 18, 2008, 11:47:05 PM »

What is .NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?

To clear up the questions behind the complexities of .NET Framework and all its versions, have a read of this from Leo Notembloom:

http://tinyurl.com/5mhdhy

The bottom line is; keep them all because something will need them.

dave
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: .NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2008, 12:11:03 AM »

Quote
But the solution is simple: leave them there. Yes, they eat up more disk space,

but unless you really know what you're doing or want to spend a lot of time experimenting (back up first!),

For a long time now I have only ever had .net framework 2 installed, 1 & 3 are set as hidden updates and not to be downloaded.

Basically I chose to keep .net 2 as that seemed the most popular of the three that was required with some program installations.
Although at one time I even have version 2 removed, but like I said a program required it so it was re-downloaded from windows updates.
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: .NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2008, 05:32:19 AM »

I've never had any version of the .net framework installed, and untill something tells me that it needs it, I won't bother.
Logged

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: .NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2008, 09:36:24 AM »

I've never had any version of the .net framework installed, and untill something tells me that it needs it, I won't bother.
Agreed.
And what's more, when something does say it needs it I usually decide it's not important and that I can do without  :P
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: .NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2008, 04:06:34 PM »


What is .NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?

However in all fairness to Dave, there probably are a lot of people who do not know what .net framework is, so his original post will come in handy to any one accessing this thread who does not understand.

Thanks Dave.
Logged

dave.m

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1453
Re: .NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2008, 06:24:17 PM »

HP said:
Quote
And what's more, when something does say it needs it I usually decide it's not important and that I can do without

Fine my me, but if it is some software that you DO NEED and it will not work without .net then you are up the creek.

My post was not  to tell anyone that they need .net but to cover the posts by novices who ask why they have got it and do they need it or can they just uninstall all versions. Lots of software that need .net actually just point out during installation that they will download it and then procede, so in months to come you cannot remember which programs need it.

I have v 1.1 and also v2.0 because some software on my PC needs it to work, and as both versions take up 87 MB of space, then considerering removing them to save space is a futile exercises.
Logged

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: .NET Framework, and do I need all these versions?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2008, 06:33:12 PM »

then you are up the creek.
Why?

I'll either install .net or do without the package.
Except on the odd test system however I've never needed to actually install it.
Logged