Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: Sites not opening  (Read 15487 times)

spitfire

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #30 on: November 12, 2008, 06:54:52 PM »

Greetings OF,

I haven't noticed any browsing problems recently.
Your original 2 sites load OK, and no problem with any of our usual forums.

I've got IE7, XP SP3, Avast Free &  ZA Pro.

Although IE7 causes you problems with other software, I suppose you could try upgrading to IE7 to see if it makes any difference.
Then roll back to IE6.

Good Luck ... if you don't like TV, what about listening to Chopin ... very soothing.    ;D

Spit
« Last Edit: November 12, 2008, 06:59:38 PM by spitfire »
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #31 on: November 12, 2008, 07:21:47 PM »

Thanks Spit,
I had thought about trying IE7 (but forgot) with everything thats going on.
It's probably time to just play the waiting game and see what eventually happens.

Although since my original problem with IE7 and MusicMatch Jukebox (MMJ), MMJ has since ceased trading as it was taken over by ?? so now the audio track auto naming feature does not function, so it may just be time to say goodbye to it anyway, shame really because it is/was such a good program, there are similar programs around but not as good.

Think I'll pass on Chopin ... very soothing, and stick with "Deff Leopard"
Logged

spitfire

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #32 on: November 12, 2008, 07:42:38 PM »

Hi OF,

I stuck with IE6 for a long time after IE7 emerged.

When I found that all the pre-loaded videos suddenly failed to load for no apparent reason, I then upgraded to IE7.
This fixed the DRM problem ... and all was well again.
I'd give it a try ... at least you'll then know.

Spit
Logged

Anne r

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #33 on: November 12, 2008, 08:54:40 PM »

Phil I have just had that message appear on one of the sites I was loading ... Computing.net ...... the site was more or less loaded but still said in bottom lower left "I Item remaining, downloading picute ... etc etc" .... the spinning circle that vista uses is still spinning away trying to load .. I guess it will time out in a bit.

The link I posted over the page (I think .... If I read it correctly last night) suggested this is being caused by sites that use those "counters" to keep a count of visitors ??

EDIT;

I just closed the page of computing.net and reloaded it from the google search results where I initially loaded it from ..... it worked fine ??

I guess we both can't be suddenly having problems with our routers or pc's settings.
Btw, I am using IE7 on Vista SP1

Anne r
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #34 on: November 12, 2008, 09:00:12 PM »

@Anne and Spit, we don't see enough of you both round here.
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #35 on: November 12, 2008, 09:22:51 PM »

Well I took the plunge "reluctantly" and installed IE7 with XP SP3
"Thanks for the prompt Spit"

And practically all the sites are now accessible again.
But I still think it's a waiting game because some people are still having problems no matter what system they are using.

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32035
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #36 on: November 12, 2008, 09:26:34 PM »

* kitz waves @ anne + spit  :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Anne r

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #37 on: November 12, 2008, 10:19:27 PM »

You're right Floydoid ..... I will try to get my butt in here more often .. promise  ;D

Yoo hoo Kitz !   :)             (Anne waves back @ Kitz)
Logged

spitfire

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #38 on: November 12, 2008, 11:41:16 PM »

* kitz waves @ anne + spit  :)

Greetings kitz,

Spit returns your wave :clap:

I agree with my pal Anne ... I must visit more often ... it's nice here ... and I've missed you.  :-[
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #39 on: November 12, 2008, 11:47:38 PM »

* kitz waves @ anne + spit  :)
Don't wave to loudly.

Have been trying since 11PM to get onto this site.

Honest I am now going to give up for a couple of days as one minute it works then the next it's gone again.
Although I might try will stick with IE7 for a bit, regardless of it's other problem.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32035
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #40 on: November 12, 2008, 11:51:18 PM »

>> Have been trying since 11PM to get onto this site.

oooh no....   :'(

btw OF are you sure its not a DNS problem.   Once youre actually at the site are you ok?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #41 on: November 12, 2008, 11:57:11 PM »

Yes now I'm here there is no problem accessing anything or refreshing pages.
ALL prevouse troublesome sites have also stopped working again at the moment also.

> btw OF are you sure its not a DNS problem
No not sure as I have not looked into that yet, but am going to NOW.
(If I can find the post that Dave & Floyd posted some info in)
Just need to check my recent emails to find it.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2008, 12:12:24 AM by oldfogy »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32035
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #42 on: November 13, 2008, 12:18:47 AM »

Yes now I'm here there is no problem accessing anything or refreshing pages.

That does sound like a DNS problem  to quote something I've said elsewhere

I cant remember if we explained this before - but Im sure youre using OpenDNS as a backup DNS server anyhow.

All DNS is - is think of it like the phone book for the internet, thats used by say your web browser.
When you type www.abc.com into your web browser..  DNS looks up the IP address so your browser can go to to 123.456.78.90

If DNS is down it doesnt stop you using the internet - it just stops you being able to "look up" any new numbers. 
DNS is cached for a short period of time by your browser, and it remembers the IP number and doesnt have to look it up again.

Think of it like this..  if you cant find the phone book to look up your friends phone no then youre a bit stuck.   But if you already know the number you can still phone him.
By using OpenDNS, your simply using 'another phone book' just in case your ISPs one goes down.



>>> (If I can find the post that Floyd posted some info in)

was it this one? - linky.

The url for opendns is https://www.opendns.com/smb/start/computer/


Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #43 on: November 13, 2008, 01:27:22 AM »

Yes thanks Kitz, Floyd or and Dave (to heck with it Thanks everyone)

 :lol: :lol: :lol:
I need to upgrade the router firmware to be able to proceed, but guess what?

I Downloaded the firmware upgrade, but it will not install, it eventually times out saying "no internet connection" (when I know for a fact there is) but am now going back to try another DL to see if that one works.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32035
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #44 on: November 13, 2008, 02:04:19 AM »

You dont need to upgrade your router?

You just need to put OpenDNS in your PC

For xp :- https://www.opendns.com/smb/start/device/windows-xp


Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4