Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Sites not opening  (Read 15321 times)

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Sites not opening
« on: November 09, 2008, 01:32:02 AM »

Help,,,,,,,,,, please.

Can anyone please try these 2 sites to see if they open for you.
I have not been able to access either of them for a couple of days now,
Although they are sites I visit very regularly.

This site "Instantly" gives me a message saying:
"Internet explorer cannot open the Internet site.... connection aborted".

Now the funny part (well not that funny)
This problem happens on 2 of my XP PC's (IE6) but have just discovered this site opens on the Vista PC (IE7)
http://www.cdcovers.cc/covers

*****************

This site just never seems to find the site on either XP or Vista.
But not too bothered about this one, although it is a useful site for Media chat.
http://www.thedemonsden.com

Thanks, it will be very much appreciated to see if they open for you.
Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2008, 02:45:39 AM »

I've just tried those sites in Firefox 2 and IE 6 (these are the versions of the browsers on the laptop I'm using at the moment!) and get much the same results as you. In IE6 the cdcovers.cc site gives the "operation aborted" message, yet the site works fine in Firefox.

Presumably the site has been tested on IE7 and not on IE6.

I couldn't get the second site to open in either browser, it must be having issues tonight :)

*edit* guess I (and you?) wasn't patient enough! I've just noticed the site has now loaded in both browsers! Didn't notice WHEN it loaded, but it's now loaded! Just clicked on a link and it took 30 seconds to give me a page, so perhaps it's on a bit of a go-slow.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 02:52:24 AM by mr_chris »
Logged
Chris

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31971
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2008, 02:52:54 AM »

he's peed  drunk ^^
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 03:02:51 AM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2008, 02:53:41 AM »

:lol: so are you :P

NC for you... I saw what you typed originally, before the word censor changed it :police:
Logged
Chris

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2008, 03:11:47 AM »


1. Presumably the site has been tested on IE7 and not on IE6.

2. I couldn't get the second site to open in either browser, it must be having issues tonight :)

3. *edit* guess I (and you?) wasn't patient enough!

4. it took 30 seconds to give me a page, so perhaps it's on a bit of a go-slow.


1. For years, "The first site" has always worked okay with IE6
2. No it's been slow dead for a number of days now.
3. I have on occasions waited anything between 10/15 minutes until eventually I gave up.
4. Yippee at least that one has now started to open. It "would not" 10 minutes ago.

Thanks, at least I know it's not my PC (bug that I can't find) been looking for 3 days.
I even "just" re-ghosted the PC back to April but still the same problem, I thought it may of been something to do with SP3, but no.

Still it's given me the opportunity to reinstall only the programs that I need again and get rid of any rubbish lying around.

So, thanks again for your effort.

*********
>> he's peed ^^
Wish I was, but took the pledge a few years ago in favour of keeping my driving licence.  :lol:
Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2008, 03:22:27 AM »

>> 1. For years, "The first site" has always worked okay with IE6

They may have changed something on the site, even if not immediately apparent? I've seen that message happen with IE7 occasionally, but I attributed it to the Skype plugin (as this modifies the page to make phone numbers clickable). Skype's not installed on this laptop, and I'm not suggesting that's the issue, but it seems under certain circumstances, IE will abort the rendering of a page in this rather unceremonious manner!


>> 3. I have on occasions waited anything between 10/15 minutes until eventually I gave up.

Like I say, I couldn't tell you how long I waited for an initial response from the site, as I simply didn't notice it appearing until I looked down at the taskbar and noticed IE was displaying the page title in the taskbar button!

>> So, thanks again for your effort.

:)
Logged
Chris

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2008, 03:51:45 AM »

>> 1. For years, "The first site" has always worked okay with IE6

They may have changed something on the site, even if not immediately apparent? I've seen that message happen with IE7 occasionally, but I attributed it to the Skype plugin (as this modifies the page to make phone numbers clickable). Skype's not installed on this laptop, and I'm not suggesting that's the issue, but it seems under certain circumstances, IE will abort the rendering of a page in this rather unceremonious manner!

>> So, thanks again for your effort.

:)
I don't think "they" have skype, but I do, although even since re-ghosting it's not been activated.
Actually when I said 10/15 minutes I may well have been underestimating that.
But we'll just have to wait and see what transpires.

Thanks again Chris .. & Kitz.
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2008, 07:27:28 AM »

OF, just tried both those sites using FF3.CD covers loaded instantly and the other took about 15 seconds.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39417
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2008, 07:34:58 AM »

I just tried them with FF3 on Linux. The first site half loaded then seemed to stick while displaying the message "Transferring data from www.google-analytics.com" which hadn't completed after two minutes. The second site loaded after about 15 seconds (like Unc).
Logged
  Eric

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2008, 09:54:53 AM »

Both sites work for me on XPSP3 + Firefox 3.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31971
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2008, 12:53:39 PM »

oops... sorry about the above - I did try and delete it, but another person thought it was funny and re-instated it. (hence the weird symbol by the post)
It was one of those "funny at the time moments" having heard chris's response when it did eventually load after 10 mins.

2 bottles of wine and vodka.. when youre supposed to be on a coding session doesnt help..  Somehow we didnt get that much coding done either and the project got abandoned as being too hard. :blush: 
Wonder why  ???
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

jeffbb

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2329
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2008, 01:41:10 PM »

OK  on FF3 and IE7
Logged
zen user

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1945
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2008, 01:42:55 PM »

Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

BT FTTP - 75meg | Sky Q |  Bridgend Weather

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2008, 04:10:42 PM »

I think there is a record with the title of "Why does it happen to me" out there somewhere, because I'm still not having any luck with either of them again today, at least not on this PC with either XP SP2 or SP3 with IE6)

But I can at least access CDcovers through my Vista PC so all is not lost.

Unfortunately I can't use IE7 on his PC as it interferes with another program I use a lot.
(MusicMatch JukeBox, as mentioned on another thread).
I don't know why, because it's not a internet program, but thats life I suppose.

Thanks to everyone for trying and I'll leave it at that now and have to see if it sorts itself out.
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Sites not opening
« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2008, 04:34:13 PM »

I'm wondering if it's a DNS issue... Kitz recommended this to me a while back, and it works pretty darned good:

http://www.opendns.com/
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
 

anything