Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Linux Tips for a Beginner.  (Read 6620 times)

tickmike

• Kitizen
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
Linux Tips for a Beginner.
« on: January 01, 2007, 06:05:57 PM »

Happy New Year To All.

I'm new to Linux has any one any good advice for me, eg. tips on how to install software onto the basic distro, tips on how to pick things up about using and learning about Linux ?.

I have downloaded and installed 'Ubuntu'  ( which is the one I'm trying on a spare machine.)

Also 'Mepis' &  'Knoppix' all for Desktops.

Michael
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From  Eclipse  isp.BT ADSL2(G992.3) line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 + Also have FTTP (G.984) No One isp Fixed IP >Dual WAN pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing).> Two WAN's, Ethernet LAN, DMZ LAN, Zyxel GS1100-24 Switch.

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Linux Tips for a Beginner.
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2007, 07:05:26 PM »

Most of the major Linux distros have good support forums which will help you with any problems you encounter. The one general bit of advice I would give is that you must try to be open-minded. Lots of people who've been using Windows for years try out a Linux distro and quickly get frustrated because it doesn't work the way they're familiar with, i.e. like Windows. You might have a look at http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm for a fairly comprehensive look at that issue.