Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: How do I connect telephone and Cat5 cables together?  (Read 16977 times)

Crawf62

• Just arrived
How do I connect telephone and Cat5 cables together?
« on: November 02, 2008, 09:58:35 PM »

I'm new to the whole art of home wiring, so I apologise in advance if this is a simple query.

I am close to completing a major extension to my house.  As a result of the build, the telephone cable was cut and the cable now runs from the pole outside and terminates inside the house.  Prior to plastering, I run a Cat5 lead which I intended on (somehow) connecting with the telephone cable.  The Cat 5 lead runs to a central hub of wires where I plan on installing a master socket (I know about the whole BT thing - line and master socket being their property - but they wanted £150 to send out an engineer!)

Can anyone help me with how I connect a telephone cable and Cat5 cable together?  Is it even possible?  Are the wires the same, but just more of them in a Cat5 cable?  Also, is there a junction box that can do this?

Many thanks for any help.

HPsauce

• Helpful
  • Kitizen
Re: How do I connect telephone and Cat5 cables together?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2008, 10:15:21 PM »

An incoming BT wire may contain several cores, but only 2 are used.
It should be terminated, by BT, on a genuine BT master socket.
Pay the money to BT to sort it out. You are asking in public for advice on how to commit an illegal act that may also put their technicians at risk if done incorrectly.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2008, 10:23:45 PM by HPsauce »

roseway

• Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2008, 10:30:25 PM »